Asake Biography: Age, Career, Net Worth & More

In just over a year Asake gained mainstream success in the music industry following the release of Omo Ope in early 2022, he’s enjoyed an impressive run ever since, churning out hit songs upon hit songs. His debut EP, Olalode Asake, and his first studio album, Mr. Money With the Vibe, contain several songs that have topped music charts within and outside Nigeria. In this article, we will explore the biography of Asake so you’ll learn about his age, career, net worth, awards, and more. Read on. 

Asake Biography

Asake’s biography would be discussed below: 

  • Early Life and Education 

Asake, whose real name is Ahmed Olalode, was born in Lagos into a Yoruba Muslim family on January 13, 1995. He is a native of Lagos State. Asake had his elementary and secondary school education in Lagos. As a young boy, Asake was a dancer in his school and around his neighbourhood. He danced in social gatherings and dancing competitions organized by the school. After completing secondary school, Asake proceeded to Obafemi Awolowo University where he studied and graduated with a degree in Dramatic Arts. 

  • Age

Asake turned 28 years of age on January 13, 2023. 

  • Career of Asake

Many people may first know about Asake when he collaborated with Olamide on Omo Ope, his breakthrough hit in early 2022. However, before Omo Ope was released, Asake had independently released several songs such as Body, Yan Yan, Don’t Hype Me, Mr. Money, and Lady which enjoyed moderate traction in the Nigerian social media space.

After the collaboration on Omo Ope, Olamide offered Asake a record deal with YBNL in February 2022. The record deal with Olamide’s record label, YBNL, came with a distribution partnership with Empire Distribution. In just a few weeks as a YBNL act, Asake released his debut EP, Olalode Asake, in February 2022. The 4-track EP contained Trabaye, Sungba, Baba God, and the earlier released Omo Ope. The EP enjoyed an outstanding run in the months following its release. The remix of Sungba, which would feature Burna Boy, was later released on March 27, 2022.  

By the second quarter of 2022, Asake teamed up with DJ Spinall to release Palazzo, which became an instant hit across Nigeria, and in other countries as well. Shortly after, he was featured on Bandana, a track off Fireboy DML’s Playboy album. Bandana was also a massive hit across Nigeria, boasting frequent airplay across radio stations in Nigeria as well as millions of downloads and streams on music streaming platforms. 

In addition to the Sungba remix that dropped on March 27, Asake released Peace Be Unto You (PBUY) on June 17, and Terminator on August 16, to support his debut album, Mr. Money With the Vibe, which would be released in the fourth quarter of 2022. Terminator, Sungba remix and Peace Be Unto You (PBUY) all enjoyed commercial success across Nigeria and beyond. 

 In the first week of September, Asake released his debut album, Mr. Money With the Vibe, through YBNL and Empire Distribution. The album comprises 12 tracks, all of which Magicsticks produced. Russ and Burnaboy were the only guest appearances on Mr. Money With the Vibe album. The album enjoyed a positive reception from fans and critics alike. AfroCritik scored a 7/10, while Pulse Nigeria scored an 8.8/10. And because of how well the album was received, it achieved several feats and records on music charts and online streaming platforms. 

On the Apple Music platform, Mr. Money With the Money became the first African Album with the most first-day streams, as well as the African Album with the most opening 3-day streams. Also, the album became the first African Album to have all its tracks occupy the top 100 positions on Apple Music Nigeria for a week after its release. Organize, one of the tracks of the album at one time, between September 18 and September 24, occupied the number 1 position on Apple Music Top 100 chart. 

Aside from the impressive feats Mr. Money With the Vibe recorded Apple Music platform, the album also broke the record for the biggest debut week for any album on Audiomack sinceTurntable Charts began tracking in July 2020. Other accomplishments include the album reaching number 1 on the Top Album Charts in 31 countries, as well as songs from the album reaching the Daily Top 100 chart in 60 countries across the world. 

The songs on the Mr. Money With the Vibe album include Dull, Terminator, Organize, Peace Be Unto You (PBUY), Dupe, Muse, Joha, Nzaza, Ototo, Reason (ft. Russ), Sunmomi and Sungba remix (ft. Burnaboy).

Asake had his first world tour towards the end of 2022, and he recorded a sold-out attendance at the O2 Brixton Academy, in Brixton, London. 

  • Awards

Asake has earned three major awards since he broke into the Nigerian music scene in January 2022.

Below is a list of awards Asake has won so far: 

  • City People Music Award for Best Collabo of the Year for Mon Cheri (2020)
  • City People Music Award for Popular Song of the Year for Mr. Money. (2020)
  • AFRIMMA Award for Break Out Artiste of the Year (2023) 
  • Discography

Asake dropped his EP, Olalode Asake, and album, Mr. Money With the Vibe, both in 2023, seven months apart. He’s also dropped several singles too, as well as being featured as a guest artiste in some songs of other singers. In this section, we will outline some songs Asake has served as a lead artiste as well as those he was a guest artiste. 

Below are some songs credited to Asake:

  • Mr. Money
  • Lady 
  • Yan Yan 
  • Don’t Hype Me
  • Omo Ope (ft. Olamide)
  • Sungba
  • Sungba (remix ) (ft. Burna Boy)
  • Loaded (Tiwa Savage ft. Asake)
  • Bandana (Fireboy DML ft. Asake)
  • Joha
  • Organize
  • Palazzo (DJ Spinall ft. Asake)
  • Peace Be Unto You (PBUY)
  • Net Worth  

According to projections from earnings Asake receives from album sales, tours, and revenue from online streaming platforms, he’s estimated to be worth around $1 million. 

error: Content is Read-Only!!