Courses Offered in FUTO: Full List


Courses Offered in FUTO: Full List

Federal University of Technology, Owerri (FUTO) was established in 1980. Its motto is Technology for Service.  It is located in Ihiagwa, which is some 12 minutes drive  from the state capital, Owerri.


At a later stage, the university got merged with Alvan Ikoku College of Education, Owerri and the students of the college of education were absorbed by FUTO.  There are two other federal universities of technology in the same category as FUTO; they are located in Akure and Minna, Ondo State and Niger State respectively.

Only 225 students were admitted in the year that FUTO started academic activities along with 60 members of staff, with 32 of them being non-teaching staff members. Today, FUTO has up to 22,000 students and up to 50 professors.

The school has made a name for itself in Nigeria of today; a great percentage of the engineers working in many of the oil and gas companies in Nigeria are graduates of FUUTO.

ALSO READ:  University of Ilorin Notable Alumni

As at 2011, FUTO was ranked the 48th best university in Nigeria by the National University Commission. Two years later, the school rose to the 12th position according to National University Commission ranking.

The rating has fallen in recent times anyway; the 2015 ranking by the same Commission placed FUTO in the 23rd position in Nigeria. Latest ranking however places FUTO in the 16th position among the best universities in Nigeria.

FUTO has 7 different colleges and they are highlighted below:

  • School Of Environmental Sciences
  • School Of Health
  • School Of Management And Management Technology
  • School Of Biological Sciences
  • School Of Physical Sciences
  • School Of Engineering And Engineering Technology
  • School Of Agriculture And Agricultural Technology

List of Courses

School Of Agriculture And Agricultural Technology

  • Soil Science Technology
  • Forestry & Wild Life Technology
  • Fisheries And Aquaculture Technology
  • Crop Science Technology
  • Animal Science Technology
  • Agricultural Extension
  • Agricultural Economics

School Of Engineering and Engineering Technology

  • Polymer & Textile Engineering
  • Petroleum Engineering
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • Food Science & Technology
  • Electrical And Electronics Engineering
  • Civil Engineering
  • Chemical Engineering
  • Agricultural Engineering
ALSO READ:  Study Abroad Scholarships & Grants For Nigerian Students

School Of Management and Management Technology

  • Transport Management Technology
  • Project Management Technology
  • Maritime Management Technology
  • Management Technology
  • Financial Management Technology
  • Information Management Technology

School Of Health Technology

  • Public Health Technology
  • Prosthesis And Orthopedics
  • Physiology
  • Optometry
  • Dental Technology
  • Biomedical Technology
  • Anatomy

School Of Biological Sciences

  • Science Laboratory Technology
  • Microbiology
  • Biotechnology
  • Biological Sciences
  • Biochemistry

School Of Physical Sciences

  • Statistics
  • Physics
  • Mathematics
  • Geology
  • Computer Sciences
  • Chemistry

Environmental Sciences

  • Urban & Regional Planning
  • Surveying & Geo-Information
  • Quantity Surveying
  • Building Technology
  • Environmental Technology
  • Architecture

Admission Requirements

Students seeking admission into FUTO are required to follow the instructions provided by JAMB in the brochure, an annual publication by the organization. All information related to admission requirements are made available in this document.

Generally, a student is required to have minimum of 5 credits in related subjects before he/she can be offered admission.






Add a Comment
  1. Emmanuel

    does futo offer economics and statictics as a course of study??

    need answer urgent plsssssss……………


    Pls What Is The Cut-off Mark For Jamb If I Want To Study Dental Technology In Futo

  3. Bill Odoeme

    please does FUTO aeronautical engineering?

  4. Precious

    Can i study history in FUTO

  5. Oscar Chidozie

    Does futo offered computer engineering

  6. Chinaza oraka

    I scored 208 in jamb and 198 in post utme can I get admission into futo

  7. charles

    can I read law at FUTO, If so what is their jamb cut off mark. also what subject should I write in jamb for my afore mentioned course.

  8. Eni Samson

    please is FUTO a nice place for an aspiring software developer

  9. Favour

    Can I study radiology in futo?


    What about in computer Science

  11. Patrick pama

    What about computer science

  12. Ngozi

    What of nursing

  13. onwumah chukwudi

    can I study mass communication in FUTO

  14. Auwal Isa Ahmad

    I got my ND in Dental Surgery Technician can i be able to get DE in Dental Technology

  15. Joshua

    i scored 182 in jamb
    and 169 in post utme can i be offered admission to study electrical engineering?

  16. Chinedu chioma precious

    i scored 205 in jamb and 164 at post utme can i study computer science?

  17. glory

    can i offer law

  18. Chioma

    Is nursing included

  19. Diala Christopher

    What is the cut of mark of JAMB for computer science?


    Can i offer architecture engineering
    in FUTO

  21. Joyce

    Pls combination for orthopedics based on subjects are wat

  22. Okafor Solomon c

    What is futo general cut-off mark

    1. 180

  23. A. Joy

    Pls I score 191 in my jamb is it possible 2 study for microbiology??

  24. Fabian Rexzy

    Does FUTO offer Marine engineering

  25. Amadi Sixtus .C.

    hmmmm nice one by the grace of God i will be a Futo Student Amen.

  26. Iheanacho

    What are the courses a 3H level computer science student can offer in futo?

  27. Emeka Iwuoma Gods will

    Pls is computer engineering course offered in FUTO

  28. philip

    is textile course offered in futo

  29. Akpan, Isong Michael

    I can’t access the school portal for more information about the school

  30. Izuchukwu

    Is ICT[Information communication Technology] offered in FUTO

  31. Izuchukwu

    Do FUTO offer ICT as a course

  32. Hamudalat

    I did home economic in my ND which course can I been offered

  33. Samuel Edeh

    Thanks for this. I appreciate

  34. Uduakobong Effiong Ibanga

    I got ND in Environmental health technology in school of health technology, please can I get direct entry in public health technology

  35. frank

    i have ND in pharmaceutical technology, can i purchase DE into computer science

  36. samuel

    nice one you got here

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *