List of State Universities in Nigeria

State universities are academic institutions owned by the government at the state level. These universities were basically created to expand admissions and bring professional skills, expertise and modern research facilities close to the city and rural dwellers. Over the years, these universities have been pivotal in helping talented students obtain higher education.

List of State Universities in Nigeria

List of State Universities in Nigeria

In this post, we will take a look at the state universities in the country.

1. Abia State University (ABSU)

ABSU was founded in 1981 and was initially controlled by the Imo State University but when Abia state was created in 1991, the Uturu campus of the Imo State University was ceded to Abia State.

The College of Agriculture and Veterinary Medicine was added to the Uturu Campus to become the Abia State University. Currently, the University offers the undergraduate, graduate and doctorate degrees

2. The Technical University, Ibadan

Tech-U, as it is popularly called, began its academic session in 2017 and currently has a total of 15 academic programmes fully accredited by the National Universities Commission (NUC).

Some of the NUC-accredited programmes include Mechatronics Engineering, Biomedical Engineering, Food Science and Technology, Cyber Security, Computer Science, Software Engineering, Physics with Electronics, Petroleum Engineering, Industrial Chemistry, and Statistics.

3. Borno State University

Borno State University is one of the latest state universities to be accredited by the NUC. A total of 118 students have been admitted and the university is expected to commence its academic session sometime in 2018.

Some of the courses offered include Law, Arts, Agriculture, Medical science, Veterinary medicine, and others.

4. Kebbi State University of Science and Technology

Located in Aliero, Kebbi, the Kebbi State University was established in 2006 to provide admission to indigenes of Kebbi State. The university offers Science, Education, Engineering and Agriculture related courses.

5. The Tai Solarin University of Education

Established in 2005, the Tai Solarin University Education is a university located in Ogun State. The history of the university can be traced to the Ogun State College of Education which was established in 1978. Some of the courses offered in TASUED include Religious studies, Mathematics, Art, Political science, Economics, Business, Agriculture, Physics, etc.

6. Nasarawa State University

Nasarawa State University is located in Keffi in Nasarawa State. Some of the courses offered include Agronomy, Finances, Agriculture and Accounting.

7. Eastern Palm University

Located in Ogboko in Imo State, Eastern Palm University was established by the Imo State Government in 2016 with the goal of becoming a world-class university anchored on excellence and research needs of all relevant persons, irrespective of gender, nationality, religion or political conviction.  The courses offered at EPU include Biochemistry, Physics, Sociology, Literary Studies, Philosophy, Computer science, etc.

8. Northwest University

Northwest University is a state university in Kano State. The faculties include Faculty of Agriculture, Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences, Faculty of Clinical Sciences, Faculty of Education, Faculty of Engineering, Faculty of Environmental Sciences, Faculty of Humanities, Faculty of Information and Communication Technology, Faculty of Law, Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Faculty of Science, School of General, Entrepreneurial and Remedial Studies, School of Postgraduate Studies

9. Niger Delta University

Located in Wilberforce Island in Bayelsa State, the Niger Delta University was established in 2000. Currently, the school has more than 10000 students offering various courses in its 12 faculties, some of which include Medicine, Business, Economics, Educational arts, Diplomacy, and Health science.

10. Ibrahim Badamasi Babangida University

IBB University is a state university in Niger State. the courses offered include Management, Religious studies, Economics, Agriculture, Animal Science, Psychology, Arabic studies, etc. The university recently approved the construction of its medical college.

11. Kaduna State University

The Kaduna State University was established in 2004 and currently consists of 7 faculties and 39 departments. The faculties include Arts, Science, Pharmaceutical Sciences, Social and Management Sciences, Environmental Sciences and Agriculture.

12. Edo University Iyamho (EUI)

Edo University Iyamho is located in Edo North, Etsako West LGA, Edo State. EUI is one of the most recent universities in the country. It was established in 2016.

13. Umaru Musa Yar’Adua University (UMYU)

Formerly called the Katsina State, the name of the university was changed to Umara Musa Yaradua University in 2009.

The school has five faculties namely Faculty of Education, Faculty of Humanities, Faculty of Law, Natural and Applied Sciences, Social and Management Sciences.

UMYU has a postgraduate school offering Masters and Postgraduate Diploma degrees.

14. Taraba State University

Established in 2008, Taraba State University is located in Taraba State. some of the courses offered at the University include study Engineering, Art, Management, Agriculture and Social sciences

15. Plateau State University

Located in Bokkos in Plateau, the university was established in 2005 and some of the disciplines include Applied Sciences, Arts, Social Sciences, Natural Sciences, and Management.

Other state universities in the country include:

  1. Adamawa State University Mubi
  2. Adekunle Ajasin University, Akungba
  3. Akwa Ibom State University of Technology, Uyo
  4. Ambrose Alli University, Ekpoma
  5. Chukwuemeka Odumegwu Ojukwu University, Uli
  6. Bauchi State University, Gadau
  7. Benue State University, Makurdi
  8. Yobe State University, Damaturu
  9. Cross River State University of Science &Technology, Calabar
  10. Delta State University Abraka
  11. Ebonyi State University, Abakaliki
  12. Ekiti State University
  13. Enugu State University of Science and Technology, Enugu
  14. Gombe State University, Gombe
  15. Ibrahim Badamasi Babangida University, Lapai
  16. Ignatius Ajuru University of Education,Rumuolumeni
  17. Imo State University, Owerri
  18. Sule Lamido University, Kafin Hausa, Jigawa
  19. Kano University of Science & Technology, Wudil
  20. Kogi State University Anyigba
  21. Kwara State University, Ilorin
  22. Ladoke Akintola University of Technology, Ogbomoso
  23. Ondo State University of Science and Technology Okitipupa
  24. River State University of Science and Technology
  25. Olabisi Onabanjo University, Ago Iwoye
  26. Lagos State University, Ojo
  27. Niger Delta University Yenagoa
  28. Tai Solarin University of Education
  29. Umar Musa Yar’ Adua University Katsina
  30. Osun State University Osogbo
  31. Sokoto State University
  32. Ondo State University of Medical Sciences
  33. University of Africa Toru Orua, Bayelsa State


Leave a Comment

error: Content is Read-Only!!