ABU Zaria Faculty of Medicine Courses List

The Ahmadu Bello University Senate in 2017 approved the upgrade of the now-defunct Faculty of Medicine to the College of Medicine Sciences. Currently, there are four Faculties in the College of Medicine namely: Allied Health Science, Basic Clinical Sciences, Clinical Sciences and Basic Clinical Sciences. This article will outline the Courses offered by the College of Medical Sciences, Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria.

ABU Zaria Faculty of Medicine Courses List

Here’s the ABU College of Medical Sciences Courses List:

  • Faculty of Allied Health Sciences

  • Medical Laboratory Science

In 2008, the defunct Faculty of Medicine, Directorate of Academic Planning and the Senate of ABU approved the Medical Laboratory Science Programme in ABU, but it began operating in 2017 following the upgrade of the Faculty of Medicine to the College of Medicine Sciences. The objectives of the Department of Medical Laboratory Science, among several, are to educate students on the production processes of biological and diagnostic reagents and to develop their proficiency in providing solutions to problems in laboratory medicine by applying their medical laboratory knowledge and skills.

  • Medical Radiography

The Medical Radiography programme is under the Faculty of Allied Health Science and has the responsibility of producing graduates capable of being able to work in professional positions involving using sophisticated radio-diagnostic equipment and procedure, and who are competent to practice Radiology at all levels of healthcare, among other objectives. The course runs for a duration of five academic sessions for UME entrants, and four academic sessions for Direct entry candidates. The Department of Medical Radiography of the  ABU College of Medicine is one of the seven tertiary institutions that offer the Bachelor of Medical Radiography programme in Nigeria.

  • Nursing Science

Nursing Science is one of the Courses in the Faculty of Allied Health Sciences and is duly accredited by the National University Commission (NUC), Nursing and Midwifery Council of Nigeria, and the West Africa Health Board (WAHEB). The Department of Nursing Science offers Baccalaureate, Master of Science (MSc), and Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) Nursing programmes. Students of Nursing Science are provided with educational experience through teaching and research to prepare them for careers in a variety of industries such as sports, aviation, biomedical research, and space physiology, among others.

  • Faculty of Basic Clinical Sciences

  • Chemical Pathology

  • Hematology and Blood Transfusion

Hematology and Blood Transfusion offers undergraduate, MSc, Ph.D., and MD programmes. The biochemistry aspects relevant to students of other degree programmes such as Radiography, Nursing, MBBS, Anatomy, etc., are catered for by the Department of Haematology and Blood Transfusions. Research, training, diagnostic and forensic investigations, outreach services and clinical services are among the services provided by the Department.

  • Medical Microbiology

  • Pathology (Morbid Anatomy)

The Department of Pathology was established in 1972. The Department offers undergraduate, MSc, and postgraduate residency training programmes.

  • Pharmacology and Therapeutics

  • Faculty of Basic Medical Science

  • Human Anatomy

The Department of Human Anatomy was created in 1967 with the fundamental purpose of teaching and training Medical Doctors, Pharmacists, Nurses, Physiologists, Medical Laboratory Scientists, Anatomists and Postgraduate students in the field of anatomy. The Department of Human Anatomy has several facilities such as the Electron Microscopy Suite, Grade ‘B’ Radioisotope Suite, Autopsy Suite,  Tissue Culture/Microbiology Suite, Embryology and Development Laboratory, among others, and they are of immense benefit to the scholarly and general population.

  • Human Physiology
  • Medical Biochemistry

  • Faculty of Clinical Sciences

  • Anesthesia

The Department of Anaesthesia was established in the defunct Faculty of Medicine, ABU, in 1968. The department is approved to provide scholarly and clinical services in Critical Care, Pain Management and Anaesthesia. Clinical undergraduate Medical students are taught how to monitor organ functioning during surgery and how to make patients insensitive to pain during such surgical procedures. The Department of Anaesthesia is also responsible for providing anesthetics services to surgically related departments of the Ahmadu Bello University Teaching Hospital (ABUTH).

  • Community Medicine

The Department of Community Medicine was established in 1969. The duration of this programme for undergraduate medical students is six years, during which they would be trained on the social aspect of medical care, and how to apply their professional knowledge to improve the health of patients, among other objectives.

  • Medicine

  • Surgery

  • Trauma and Orthopedic Surgery

  • Ophthalmology

The Department of Ophthalmology was established in 1967 and offers undergraduate and postgraduate degree programmes in Ophthalmology. The department is devoted to training students to enable them to gain the necessary theoretical and practical knowledge in delivering ophthalmic services that satisfy healthcare standards.

  • Pediatrics

The Department of Paediatrics is committed to teaching and training medical students who wish to specialise in Childcare medicine on ways to improve the health and welfare of children.

  • Psychiatry

The Department of Psychiatry is devoted to training undergraduate medical students to handle varying psychiatric conditions of patients that include sexual deviation and dysfunction, mental retardation, affective disorders, abnormal personalities, etc.

  • Radiology

The Department of Radiology provides medical students and postgraduate resident doctors with high-quality training and research in Radiology and Radiotherapy. Students who enrolled in the Radiology programme receive the training that makes them competent in rendering specialist radio-diagnostics and radiotherapy services.

  • Obstetrics and Gynaecology

Since 1968 when the Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology was established, it has provided up-to-date scholarly teachings and training to undergraduate and postgraduate students, equipping them with the knowledge and skills required to effectively manage pregnancy and diseases of the female reproductive system. Furthermore, other health workers such as nurses and community health workers who are on rotation exercises also receive training in Obstetrics and Gynaecology.

  • Dental Surgery

Dental Surgery is a six-year-long course that comprises complex but related specialties. Before a student is awarded the Bachelor of Dental Surgery degree, he is to spend 1 year of basic preliminary sciences (100 level), two years of pre-clinical studies (200 & 300 levels) and three years of clinical studies ( 400, 500, and 600 levels), and pass five professional examinations. Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, Oral Diagnostic Sciences, Restorative Dentistry, Preventive and Community Dentistry, and Child Dental Health, are the major clinical units in the Dental Surgery programme of ABU.

error: Content is Read-Only!!