List of Science Courses Offered in OAU (2024)

Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife (OAU) is a Federal Government-owned university. The institution was established two years after Nigeria gained independence in 1960.

In this post, we take a look at the courses offered in OAU but first let’s discover the admission requirements.

First, you must have passed at least 5 credits in either WAEC or NECO at your first sitting or 6 credits in two sittings to apply for admission in OAU.

Secondly, you must register for JAMB and score at least a minimum of 200 cut off mark.

Once you have fulfilled the two requirements above, you’re expected to prepare very well for the screening in order to score high which increases the chances of been admitted especially for a highly competitive course.

science courses in oau
Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-ife

OAU offers 82 courses and has 4 Faculties under the Colleges of Health Sciences. These faculties include:

  • Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences,
  • Faculty of Clinical Sciences,
  • Faculty of Dentistry,
  • Institute of Public Health

The Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences offers the following courses:

  1. Anatomy and Cell Biology
  2. Chemical Pathology
  3. Haematology and Immunology
  4. Medical Microbiology and Parasitology
  5. Medical Biochemistry
  6. Medical Pharmacology and Therapeutics
  7. Medical Rehabilitation
  8. Morbid Anatomy and Forensic Medicine
  9. Nursing Science
  10. Physiological Sciences

The Faculty of Clinical Sciences is made up of the following departments:

  1. Anaesthesia and Intensive Care
  2. Community Health
  3. Dermatology and Venereology
  4. Medicine
  5. Mental Health
  6. Obstetrics, Gynaecology and Perinatology
  7. Orthopaedic Surgery and Traumatology
  8. Paediatrics and Child Health
  9. Radiology
  10. Surgery

Faculty of Dentistry

  1. Child Dental Health
  2. Oral/Maxillofacial Surgery and Oral Pathology
  3. Preventive and Community Dentistry
  4. Restorative Dentistry

List of Science Courses in Obafemi Awolowo University

Below is a comprehensive list of the courses offered by OAU and the highlighted courses are the science-based courses

  1. African Languages and Literature
  2. Agricultural Economics
  3. Agricultural and Environmental Engineering
  4. Agricultural Extension and Rural Sociology
  5. Anaesthesia and Intensive Care
  6. Anatomy and Cell Biology
  7. Animal Science
  8. Archeology
  9. Architecture
  10. Biochemistry
  11. Botany
  12. Building
  13. Business Law
  14. Chemical Engineering
  15. Chemical Pathology
  16. Chemistry
  17. Civil Engineering
  18. Community Health and Nutrition
  19. Computer Science and Engineering
  20. Crop production
  21. Demography and Social Statistics
  22. Dermatology and Venerology
  23. Dramatic Arts
  24. Drug Research and Production Unit
  25. Economics
  26. Educational Administration and Planning
  27. Educational Foundation and Counseling
  28. Educational Technology
  29. Electronic and Electrical Engineering
  30. English Language
  31. Environmental Health and Epidemiology
  32. Estate Management
  33. Fine and Applied Arts
  34. Food Nutrition and Consumer Sciences
  35. Food Science and Technology
  36. Foreign Languages
  37. Geography
  38. Geology
  39. Haematology and Immunology
  40. History
  41. Institute of Education
  42. International Law
  43. International Relations
  44. Jurisprudence and Private Law
  45. Linguistics
  46. Literature in English
  47. Local Government Studies
  48. Management and Accounting
  49. Mathematics
  50. Mechanical Engineering
  51. Medical Microbiology and Parasitology
  52. Medical Rehabilitation
  53. Medicine
  54. Mental Health
  55. Materials Science & Engineering
  56. Microbiology
  57. Morbid Anatomy and Forensic Medicine
  58. Music
  59. Nursing
  60. Obstetrics, Gynaecology and Perimatology
  61. Oral Maxilofacial Surgery and Oral Pathology
  62. Orthopaedic Surgery and Traumatology
  63. Paediatrics and Child Health
  64. Pharmaceutical Chemistry
  65. Pharmaceutics
  66. Pharmacognosy
  67. Pharmacology
  68. Philosophy
  69. Physical and Health Education
  70. Physics
  71. Physiological Sciences
  72. Plant Science
  73. Political Science
  74. Preventive Dentistry, Oral Medicine and Period Ontology
  75. Psychology
  76. Public Administration
  77. Public Law
  78. Quantity Surveying
  79. Radiology
  80. Religious Studies
  81. Restorative Dentistry
  82. Sociology and Anthropology
  83. Soil Science
  84. Special Education and Curriculum Studies
  85. Surgery
  86. Urban and Regional Planning
  87. Zoology


5 thoughts on “List of Science Courses Offered in OAU (2024)”

Leave a Comment

error: Content is Read-Only!!