National Open University of Nigeria: All You Need To Know


National Open University of Nigeria: All You Need To Know

The National Open University of Nigeria (NOUN) is an Open and Distance Learning Institution which was first established on 22 July 1983. It was suspended by the government on 25 April 1984 before it was resuscitated on the 12th of April 2001 and Its pioneer student enrollment was 32,400.

The Vision Statement of the University is to provide functional, cost-effective, flexible learning which adds life-long value to quality education for all who seek knowledge. Her Vision is to be regarded as the foremost University providing highly accessible and enhanced quality education anchored by social justice, equity, equality and national cohesion through a comprehensive reach that transcends all barriers.

The University has 61 Study Centres all over the country. The University presently has over 50 courses of study. Webometrics ranks National Open University of Nigeria as 23rdin Nigeria and 9,782nd in the world.

Also Read: NOUN Admission Requirement & Process

The current Vice Chancellor of UNN is Olugbemiro Jegede and the University has a Staff Strength of 198 comprising management, academic, technology, administrative and other support staff at the Headquarters and over 120,000 students.

National Open University of Nigeria Faculties

The faculties include:

1. School of Science and Technology

2. School of Health Sciences

3. School of Agricultural Sciences

4. School of Law.

5. School of Education

6. School of Management Sciences

7. Schools of Arts and Social Sciences.

18M+ of FBS traders made money work for them. Start trading too with FBS, a trusted broker for 12 years. Dive into the market easily with a no-deposit $50 Bonus (available for Nigeria) and turn a free $50 into real profit up to $500! Trade Forex, crypto, stocks, & more assets. Start earning now!



  1. Stephanie
  2. Ibiam Cletus Okechukwu

Leave a Reply

error: Content is Read-Only!!