List of Science Courses in KWASU (2023)


Kwara State University is also known as KWASU and it is the 77th university to be registered by the Nigerian Universities Commission ( NUC) and the 95th university to be recognized in Nigeria.

The institution was established by the administration of Dr. Bukola Saraki in 2009 with the objective of becoming a center for community service and entrepreneurship.

The origin of the Kwara State University can be traced to November 1990 when the Kwara Polytechnic was established. Twelve years later, Kwara Polytechnic was converted into a university by the then Governor of Kwara State, Alhaji Mohammed Alabi.

List of Science Courses in KWASU ([year])

The Bill for the Kwara State University was eventually signed into law on 24 December 2008. The certificate and instrument to operate the university was obtained on 9 February 2009 from the National Universities Commission (NUC).

When fully operational, the university is planned to have its academic activities operate from three campuses located in Malete, Ilesha-Baruba and Osi-Opin.

Currently, the Malete campus is the main campus and houses the College of Pure and Applied Sciences, College of Information and Communication Technology, and the College of Education. Osi (Ekiti local government) campus will house the College of Engineering, College of Humanities, Management and Social Sciences. The Baruba (Baruten Local government) Campus will house the College of Agriculture and Veterinary Sciences.

Admission into KWASU requires candidate to score at least 180 in the UME examination. Also, yo’re expected to score at least 5 credits in your examination with the subject combination depending on the course you’re applying to.

List of Courses in KWASU (Kwara State University)

Below is the official list of courses offered in Kaduna State university (KASU). The highlighted courses are the science-based courses.

  1. Accountancy / Finance / Accounting
  2. Agriculture
  3. Arabic Studies
  4. Architecture
  5. Biochemistry
  6. Biological Science(s)
  7. Biology
  8. Business Administration
  9. Chemistry
  10. Chinese Studies
  11. Christian Religious Knowledge / Studies
  12. Christian Religious Studies (CRS)
  13. Computer Science
  14. Crop Production & Soil Science
  15. Drama / Dramatic / Performing Arts
  16. Economics
  17. English Studies
  18. Environmental Management
  19. Estate Management
  20. French
  21. Geography
  22. Geology
  23. Geophysics
  24. Hausa
  25. History
  26. Industrial Chemistry
  27. Industrial Relations and Personnel Management
  28. International Studies and Diplomacy
  29. Islamic Studies
  30. Library and Information Science
  31. Linguistics
  32. Mass Communication
  33. Mathematics
  34. Medicine and Surgery
  35. Microbiology
  36. Pharmacy
  37. Physics
  38. Political Science
  39. Quantity Surveying
  40. Sociology
  41. Statistics

We have also included the admission requirements into KWASU in this post.

All applying candidates should note that they are required and must have at least three credit passes including the following:

  • English Language in General Certificate of Education ( GCE) ‘O’Level,
  • West African School Certificate (WAEC),
  • National Examination Council (NECO),
  • National Business and Technical Examination Board (NABTEB).

If you’re applying for any course under Visual and Performing Arts and you have vast experience in the field and can communicate, write and think in English, you will be considered for admission into KWASU irrespective of the aforementioned requirements.


Leave a Reply

error: Content is Read-Only!!