Kaduna State University Courses & Requirements

History of Kaduna State University

The Kaduna State University (KASU) was founded under the Kaduna State Law No. 3 which was promulgated on the 21st of May, 2004.  There was an obvious need to boost the level of higher education in the state of Kaduna and the whole country as a whole.

The underlying factor is the fact that the demand for university education in Nigeria has, since the past few years, risen astronomically. Since the reforms, many State and Private universities have been established.

Kaduna State University Courses

The objective of the establishment was to provide more opportunities for many to learn. This was to be achieved via teaching, research and community service.

There was also the issue of increasing population growth in Nigeria. With this came an increased awareness of the significance and importance of tertiary education and the need to improve on the development of man-power which was crucial to nation-building. All these justified the need for the establishment of many more universities in Nigeria. It thus resulted in the establishment and ownership of Universities by both the public and the private sector.

Another most defining factor in the establishment of Institutions of higher learning is access to education. To address the challenges of inadequate spaces for eligible university applicants, more Institutions needed to be established.

Kaduna has always been a Centre of Learning from the pre-colonial era to this present time. Famous and reputable secondary and tertiary schools are present in the state.

Compared to any state in the northern region, Kaduna State has a large number of public schools at both the lower and higher level.

However, the number of youths in need of higher education in the state far exceeds the available spaces available in the universities of the State. This has resulted in a gross lack of human resources critical sectors of the state’s development and growth such as agriculture, engineering, industry, medicine and law.

It is this pressing growing need, to match up the spaces of the Tertiary Institutions to accommodate all who are qualified, that led to the establishment of a State-owned University in Kaduna State.

A technical committee was set up by the Kaduna State Government to review the situation and come up with recommendations.

The Committee was inaugurated on Friday, 24th January 2003 and its report was submitted on Monday, 12th May 2003.

The Kaduna State University was therefore established on 21st May 2004 with two campuses, one in Kaduna town and the other in Kafanchan.

Academic activities began in 2005/2006. This was at the campus in Kaduna town with 3 Faculties, 19 Undergraduate Programmes, 17 Academic Departments, and a College of Basic Studies.

Currently, the University has 2 Colleges, 2 campuses, 8 Faculties, 51 Academic Departments, 32 Undergraduate Programmes and 54 Postgraduate Programmes in both campuses.

This shows the growth and development the Institution has undergone over the years.

According to statistics by Joint Admissions and Matriculation Board for 2017 on the number of applicants for admission into Nigerian Universities, KASU was the second most-sort-after State University in Nigeria.

Kaduna State University Courses & Requirements

Admission Requirements

Undergraduate Programmes

To qualify for any Undergraduate program with the Kaduna State University,  the general criteria required to be met are five credit passes in the relevant subjects pertaining to the course of choice, including the English Language at the SSCE level.

 100 Level

One must have obtained an acceptable UME score and five credit passes to include English Language and four other relevant subjects to the course of study. This should be obtained at the SSCE or its equivalent and not more than two sittings.

 Direct Entry: Kaduna State University does not admit direct entry candidates at the moment.

Postgraduate Programmes: Kaduna State University also runs postgraduate programmes in addition to the first degrees,

Masters Degree Programmes

Candidates for the Master’s Degree programmes must be holders of first degrees from any accredited recognized universities in Nigeria. This degree must be with a minimum of Second Class Honors or other equivalent qualification.

  • Candidates for the Doctorate Degree programmes must have a Masters Degree from any recognized or accredited university or its equivalent.


1    General Certificate of Education (GCE)-  Acceptable to all programmes

2    West African Examination Council (WAEC)- Acceptable to all programmes

3    National Examination Council (NECO) – Acceptable to all programmes

4    National Business and Technical Education Board (NABTEB)    Acceptable to some departments such as Accounting, Geography, Microbiology, Business Admin., Science, Estate Management, Economics. Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Biochemistry, Chemistry, Quantity Surveying, Industrial Chemistry, Architecture, Microbiology, Biology, Agriculture, Environmental Mgt.,

5    National Board for Arabic and Islamic Studies (NBAIS)- Acceptable to Arabic and Islamic Studies

College of Basic Studies

Admission into the College of Basic Studies, Kaduna State University

Programmes of the College of Basic Studies, Kaduna State University are

Basic Programmes

  • Basic Science

These are English, Mathematics, Chemistry, Biology, Physics, Geography and Economics

  • Basic Humanities

Subjects required under this are English, Economics, Mathematics, Geography, Arabic, French, Government and Literature)

  • IJMB
  • A’Level: These are Mathematics, Physics, Biology, Chemistry, Accounting, Economics, Business Management, Geography, Literature, Government and Sociology

Remedial Programmes

  • Remedial Science: Subjects required are English, Mathematics, Physics, Biology, Chemistry, Economics and Geography
  • Remedial Humanities: Subjects required under this are: English, Mathematics, Government, Economics, Geography and Literature


Below are the requirements to be met to be suitable for admission into the programmes of the College of Basic Studies, Kaduna State University:

Basic and IJMB Programmes

  • Candidates must possess 5 O’Level Credit Passes. This includes English and Mathematics, which must be obtained in not more than 2 sittings.

Remedial Programmes

  • Candidates must have obtained at least 3 O’Level Credit Passes

Method Of Application

Anyone interested in any of the CBS programmes should follow the procedure below:

  • Create a Profile
  • check your e-mail for your Username and Password;
  • Login with your Profile details;
  • Fill the application form
  • Submit

FAculties in the Kaduna State University

  • Agriculture
  • Arts and Humanities
  • College of Medicine
  • Environmental Science
  • Management Sciences
  • Pharmaceutical Sciences
  • Science
  • Social Sciences

Contact Address of Kaduna State University


Tafawa Balewa Way, PMB 2339, Kaduna, Nigeria



Leave a Comment

error: Content is Read-Only!!