Top Universities in Nigeria by NUC Standards


The National Universities Commission (NUC) started operation in 1962. They started off as an advisory agency for the federal government in the Cabinet Office. In 1974, however, the body was transformed to a statutory body and Professor Jibril Aminu was appointed as its very first Executive Secretary of the National Universities Commission.

Top Universities in Nigeria by NUC Standards

The National Universities Commission is one of the parastatals under the federal Ministry of Education.  The commission’s activities are directed by its Governing Council, which is appointed by the federal government. The governing Council is now being headed by Professor Shehu Galadanchi and its present Executive Secretary is Professor Julius A Okojie.  The Secretary assumed office on the 3rd of August, 2006.

The NUC had been in operation for more than 47 years now. It started off as a very small office in the cabinet office to a very important arm of the federal government it had participated in the management and development of university education in Nigeria over the years.

The NUC is responsible for granting approval for the various academic programs that are run in all the universities in Nigeria, be it federal, state or privately owned university. The body also grants approval for the establishment of all institutions that are offering degree programs in Nigeria. They also ensure the quality assurance of all the academic programs that are offered in universities operating in Nigeria. The body acts as channel for all the external supports to all Nigerian universities.

Every year, the NUC releases the annual ranking of Nigerian universities according to the yearly performances of each of these institutions. They have released the ranking for this year too and it is detailed below. So, check below for the current list of top Nigerian universities as ranked by the National Universities Commission.

1.       University of Lagos (UNILAG): The University of Lagos is popularly known as UNILAG. It is a federal government research university in Lagos State, southwestern Nigeria. its motto is In deed and in truth. Its Nickname is Akokites

2.       Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife (OAU): Obafemi Awolowo University (OAU) is a federal government owned and operated Nigerian university. The university is in the ancient city of Ile-Ife, Osun State, Nigeria.

  1. University of Ibadan (UI): The University of Ibadan (UI) is the oldest and one of the most prestigious Nigerian universities, and is located five miles (8 kilometres) from the centre of the major city of Ibadan in Western Nigeria.
  1. University of Ilorin, Ilorin (UNILORIN):
  2. Covenant University, Ota (CU):
  3. Federal University of Technology, Minna (FUTMINNA):
  4. University of Nigeria Nsukka (UNN):
  5. University of Benin (UNIBEN): The school was founded in 1970. It started as an Institute of Technology and was accorded the status of a full-fledged University by National Universities Commission (NUC) on 1 July 1971.
    Motto: Knowledge for Service
  6. University of Port Harcourt (UNIPORT):
  7. Ahmadu Bello University (ABU):
  8. University of Agriculture, Abeokuta (FUNAAB) 
  9. Landmark University, Omu-Aran
  10. Rivers State University of Science and Technology, Port Harcourt (RSUST)
  11. Federal University of Technology, Akure (FUTA)
  12. University of Jos (UNIJOS)
  13. Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Awka (UNIZIK)
  14. Lagos State University, Ojo (LASU)
  15. Redeemer’s University, Mowe 
  16. Bayero University Kano (BUK)
  17. University of Maiduguri (UNIMAID)
  18. Ladoke Akintola University of Technology, Ogbomoso
  19.  Federal University, Dutsin-Ma, Dutsin-Ma
  20.  Federal University of Technology, Owerri
  21.  Federal University, Oye-Ekiti.
  22.  Afe Babalola University, Ado-Ekiti
  23.  Osun State University, Oshogbo.
  24.  Paul University, Awka
  25.  Ekiti State University, Ado Ekiti
  26.  Adekunle Ajasin University, Akungba Akoko
  27.  Federal University, Dutse.
  28.  University of Uyo, Uyo
  29.  University of Agriculture, Makurdi.
  30. University of Abuja, Abuja
  31. Ebonyi State University, Abakaliki
  32. Veritas University, Abuja
  33. Madonna University, Okija.
  34. University of Calabar, Calabar
  35. Nasarawa State University, Keffi
  36. Pan African University, Lagos
  37. Ambrose Alli University, Ekpoma
  38. Lead City University, Ibadan
  39. Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University, Bauchi
  40. Kwara State University, Ilorin
  41. Delta State University, Abraka, Abraka
  42. Baze University, Abuja
  43. Bingham University, Auta Balifi
  44. Bells University of Technology, Ota
  45. Umaru Musa Yar’Adua University,  Katsina
  46. Babcock University, Ilishan-Remo.
  47. Federal University of Petroleum Resources, Effurun
  48. Benue State University, Makurdi
  49. Enugu State University of Science and Technology, Enugu
  50. Joseph Ayo Babalola University, Ikeji-Arakeji
  51. Niger Delta University, Wilberforce Island Yenagoa
  52. African University of Science and Technology, Abuja
  53. Kaduna State University, Kaduna
  54. Federal University, Lokoja.
  55. Igbinedion University Okada, Okada.
  56. Ibrahim Badamasi Babangida University, Lapai
  57. Fountain University, Oshogbo
  58. American University of Nigeria, Yola
  59. Achievers University, Owo
  60. Ondo State University of Science & Technology, Okitipupa
  61. Obong University, Obong Ntak
  62. Crawford University, Faith City
  63. Federal University, Otuoke
  64. Anambra State University, Uli
  65. Olabisi Onabanjo University, Ago Iwoye
  66. Tai Solarin University of Education, Ijebu-Ode
  67. Modibbo Adama University of Technology, Yola
  68. Ajayi Crowther University, Oyo Town
  69. Imo State University, Owerri
  70. Caleb University, Imota
  71. Federal University, Ndufu-Alike
  72. University of Mkar, Mkar
  73. Nigerian Turkish Nile University, Abuja
  74. Novena University, Ogume
  75. Adeleke University, Ede
  76. Renaissance University, Enugu
  77. Al-Hikmah University, Ilorin.
  78. Caritas University, Enugu
  79. Usmanu Danfodio University, Sokoto
  80. Kebbi State University of Science and Technology, Aliero
  81. Benson Idahosa University, Benin City
  82. Oduduwa University, Ile Ife
  83. Michael Okpara University of Agriculture, Umuahia
  84. Bowen University, Iwo
  85. Adamawa State University, Mubi
  86. Crescent University, Abeokuta
  87. Cross River University of Science & Technology, Calabar
  88. Gombe State University, Gombe
  89. Elizade University, Ilara-Mokin
  90. Abia State University, Uturu
  91. Wellspring University, Benin City
  92. Yobe State University, Damaturu
  93. Western Delta University, Oghara
  94. Federal University, Lafia
  95. Wesley University of Science and Technology, Ondo City
  96. Bauchi State University, Gadau
  1. Federal University, Kashere
  2. Federal University, Wukari, Wukari
  3. Samuel Adegboyega University, Ogwa
  4. Taraba State University, Jalingo
  5. Sokoto State University, Sokoto
  6. Kwararafa University Wukari.
  7. Tansian University, Umunya
  8. Akwa Ibom State University, Uyo
  9. Godfrey Okoye University, Ugwuomu-Nike
  10. Salem University, Lokoja
  11. Plateau State University, Bokkos
  12. Katsina University, Katsina
  13. Kogi State University, Anyigba
  14. Rhema University, Aba


Searching for the ways to make money online? Try online trading with FBS. Trade Forex, crypto, stocks & other assets. Enjoy $140 Level Up Bonus, Cashback with up to $15 per lot & many more. Low spreads, 24/7 withdrawals, multilingual support. Open an account now!


Leave a Reply

error: Content is Read-Only!!