States and Capital in Nigeria


There are 36 states in Nigeria. The Federal capital territory is in number 37.  These 36 states are divided among the 3 regions in the country.


As at 1960 to 1963, Nigeria was only divided into 3 regions, namely eastern region, western region and northern region.  From 1963 to 1967, there were 4 regions instead of three following the carving out of the mid western region out of the old western region.

From 1967 to 1976, General Yakubu Gowon created more states, bringing the total number of states in Nigeria to 12. Name of the 12 states are Rivers, Cross Rivers, East Central State( all from the old eastern state), Bendel, Western State and Lagos( all 3 from the old western state), Benue-Plateau, Kaduna, Kwara, Kano, Northwestern State and North-Eastern State ( all from the old northern region).

ALSO READ:  PhD Scholarship in Canada: How to Register Easily

From 1976 to 1987, Abuja was created from the old Niger State and total number of states in Nigeria became 19. It later became 21 by 1991. The 36-state structure came to being in 1996.

The 36 states and their capital cities are listed below:

Abia State           Umuahia

Adamawa            Yola

Akwa Ibom         Uyo

Anambra             Awka

Bauchi                   Bauchi

Bayelsa                 Yenagoa

Benue                   Makurdi

Borno                    Maiduguri

Cross River          Calabar

ALSO READ:  Top 10 Best Secondary Schools In Nigeria

Delta                     Asaba

Ebonyi                  Abakaliki

Edo                        Benin

Ekiti                        Ado-Ekiti

Enugu                   Enugu

FCT                         Abuja

Gombe                 Gombe

Imo                        Owerri

Jigawa                   Dutse

Kaduna                 Kaduna

Kano                      Kano

Katsina                 Katsina

Kebbi                    Birnin Kebbi

Kogi                       Lokoja

Kwara                   Ilorin

Lagos                     Ikeja

Nassarawa          Lafia

Niger                     Mina

Ogun                     Abeokuta

Ondo                     Akure

Osun                     Osogbo

Oyo                        Ibadan

Plateau                 Jos

Rivers                    Port Harcourt

Sokoto                  Sokoto

Taraba                  Jalingo

Yobe                      Damaturu

Zamfara               Gusau





You’ll Love These Posts…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Nigerian Finder © 2018
error: Content is protected !!