List of Federal Polytechnics in Nigeria


Polytechnics in Nigeria are more practical in their curriculum and teaching than universities. Polytechnics are renowned for having a higher tendency of imparting knowledge through practical sessions, unlike other Nigerian Universities. In most Nigerian universities, students are only drilled on the theoretical aspects of their course work. Polytechnics were established with the aim of providing society with the skilled manpower so as to benefit the nation at large. The most attractive fact about Federal and State Polytechnics is the affordability of school fees. The school fees of Federal and state polytechnics in Nigeria are much more affordable than their university counterparts. This article covers the full list of federal polytechnics in Nigeria.

List of Federal Polytechnics in Nigeria

List of Federal Polytechnics in Nigeria

Read on below:

Akanu Ibiam Federal Polytechnic Unwana

Akanu Ibiam Federal Polytechnic, Unwana used to be known as The Federal Polytechnic, Unwana. This polytechnic was established by Decree No.33 of 1979. However, The Polytechnic effectively took off in November 1981.

Auchi Polytechnic

Auchi Polytechnic is one of the first four Polytechnics ever established in Nigeria. Auchi Polytechnic was founded in 1963. It was first established as a technical college and later became a Polytechnic in 1973. The institution was established with the task of training students so as to produce highly skilled middle level manpower to build the nation’s economy across different areas such as engineering, technology, science, environmental studies, Management studies and Art & Design. Auchi Polytechnic is also known in many quarters to be one of the leading Polytechnics in the country. Auchi polytechnic is located in Edo state.

Federal Polytechnic Ado- Ekiti

The Federal Polytechnic Ado-Ekiti was first established in January 1977 in Jos, Plateau state. However, it was moved by the Federal government to Akure, Ondo state in 1978. This was done in order to maintain an equal spread of Federal government institutions among the states in the country. The status of the institution was changed from a College of Technology to a Polytechnic according to Decree No.33 of 1979. In 1982, the institution was once again relocated by the government to Ado- Ekiti. The Federal Polytechnic, Ado- Ekiti was established to be a training site and develop self-reliant manpower for the sustainable development of Nigeria.

Federal Polytechnic, Bali, Taraba state

The Federal Polytechnic Bali was established via the Federal Executive Council approval of Wednesday 14th March 2007.

Federal Polytechnic Bauchi

The Federal Polytechnic, Bauchi state was established with the aim of technological development in Nigeria. The institution trains its students in the application of Science, Engineering and Commerce.

Federal Polytechnic Bida, Niger state

The Federal Polytechnic Bida was established in 1977 after the Federal Government of Nigeria had decided to move the then Federal College of Technology, Kano to Bida. The first academic session began in April 1978 with 211 students and 11 senior staff and 33 junior staff.  The Bida College of Technology automatically became The Federal Polytechnic Bida, upon the promulgation of Federal Polytechnic Decree number 33 of 1979.

Federal Polytechnic Damaturu, Yobe state

The Federal Polytechnic Damaturu was established in a bid to improve the conditions and quality of technical education in Yobe state. It was decided towards the end of 1992 that a State Polytechnic will be established in Damaturu, the State Capital. However, the Federal Polytechnic, Damaturu was established in May, 1993 due to the Federal Polytechnics (Amendment No.2) Decree of 1 93.

The Federal Polytechnic Ede

The Federal Polytechnic Ede was established in February 1992, via Decree No. 33 of 25th July, 1979 which was later amended by Decree 5 of 1993.  However, the Polytechnic only took off properly in January 1993. This led to the admission of 847 students (pioneer students) on the 13th of April, 1993.

Federal Polytechnic Ekowe, Bayelsa state

The Federal Polytechnic Ekowe, Bayelsa state is the first oil and gas polytechnic in Nigeria. The polytechnic was established with a specific mandate to train and develop students in the areas of oil, gas and environmental studies. The institution was established under the Federal Polytechnic Act of 1990 as amended. It was assented into law by late President Umaru Musa Yar’ Adua in July 2007. However, full implementation only commenced in 2009.

Federal Polytechnic Idah, Kogi state

The Federal Polytechnic, Idah is one of the seven Polytechnics established by the Federal Military Government under Decree No. 33 of July 1979. The Institution began operations with eleven academic staff, nineteen senior administrative members, eighty-six supporting members of staff as well as 220 pioneer students on Monday, 28th November, 1977.

Federal Polytechnic Ilaro, Ogun state

Federal Polytechnic Ilaro, Ogun state was established by legislation on July 25, 1979. The institution opened its gates to the public on November 15, 1979. Now, the school trains students in five schools or faculties, which are Engineering, Environmental Studies, Communication and Information Technology, Management Studies and Pure and Applied Sciences.

Federal polytechnic, Ile-Oluji

The Federal Polytechnic, Ile-Oluji, Ondo State was established by the Federal government in 2014.

Federal Polytechnic Kaura Namoda, Zamfara state

The Federal Polytechnic, Namoda is located in Kaura-Namoda, Zamfara State, Nigeria. It was established in June 1983 by President Shehu Shagari. The institution has over 5,000 students

Federal Polytechnic Mubi, Adamawa state

Federal Polytechnic, Mubi is located in Mubi, Adamawa State, in the north eastern part of Nigeria. The Federal Polytechnic, Mubi is one of the seven Polytechnics established by the Federal Military government by Decree No. 33 of 1979.

Federal Polytechnic Nasarawa

The Federal Polytechnic, Nasarawa was established on 1st July, 1983 by the Federal Government of Nigeria.

Federal Polytechnic Nekede, Owerri, Imo state

The Federal Polytechnic Nekede, Owerri, Imo state was established in 1978. It is located in Nekede, a town in Imo state, in the South eastern part of Nigeria.

Petroleum Training Institute Effurun

Petroleum Training Institute in Effurun, Delta State was established in 1973 by the federal government of Nigeria. It was established as a prerequisite for membership in the Organization of Petroleum Exporting Countries (OPEC). The Training institute aims to become the leading Oil & Gas technological institute in Africa.

Nigerian Army Institute of Technology and Environmental Science (NAITES), Markurdi.



Searching for the ways to make money online? Try online trading with FBS. Trade Forex, crypto, stocks & other assets. Enjoy $140 Level Up Bonus, Cashback with up to $15 per lot & many more. Low spreads, 24/7 withdrawals, multilingual support. Open an account now!


Leave a Reply

error: Content is Read-Only!!