KWASU Student Portal: How to Access & Use


Kwara State University is one of the universities in Nigeria. It was the 77th university to be registered by the Nigerian Universities Commission (NUC) and the 95th university to be recognized in Nigeria.

In this post, we take a look at the KWASU student portal and how you can use and access it.

KWASU Student Portal: How to Access & Use

But first, let’s take a look at the profile of the university.

KWASU was established by the administration of Dr. Bukola Saraki in 2009 with the vision to be more than the traditional Nigerian university. As a result, the design of the university was built around community service and entrepreneurship.

The history of the university can be traced to November 1990 although there was no tangible evidence of a university until 2002 when the Kwara Polytechnic was converted into a university by the then Governor of Kwara State, Alhaji Mohammed Alabi.

In 2007, the Governor of Kwara State Governor Bukola Saraki set up a Planning Committee for the establishment of the Kwara State University. Subsequently, the bill for the founding of the Kwara State University was signed into law on 24 December 2008.

The university began operating on the 9th of February 2009 and the first Vice-Chancellor was Professor Abdul Rasheed Na’Allah.

The goal of the university was to have academic activities in three campuses located in Malete, Ilesha-Baruba, and Osi-Opin.

The Malete campus will serve as the main campus with the College of Pure and Applied Sciences, College of Information and Communication Technology, and the College of Education while the Osi campus will house the College of Engineering, College of Humanities, Management, and Social Sciences. Finally, the Baruba Campus will house the College of Agriculture and Veterinary Sciences.

Additionally, KWASU has several academic centres including the Center for Ecology and Environmental Management and Studies CEERMS, which recently received a grant from UNESCO worth $15.3 million to be used over a six-year period to establish the UNESCO Chair for Alternative Energy Programme.

Other academic centres include the Center for African Oral Traditions, Institute for Asian Studies, Ibrahim Gambari Center for the Study of United Nations and Regional Organizations, Center for Pre-degree and Remedial Studies, Center for Human Rights and the law, Center for Modernity and Religion, Center for Art Preservation, Center for Sponsored Projects, Center for Innovation in Teaching and Research, Center for Innovative Technology, Center for Innovation and International Studies, Center for Bio-Computational Applications and the Center for Entrepreneurship.

The Center for Entrepreneurship is said to be the first of its kind in the country and the objective of this center is to prepare graduates to identify and recognize opportunities through an-orientation towards job creation.

The university collaborates with current students to propose and implement a project. When they graduate, the university will continue the partnership to ensure the implementation of the projects.

Also, KWASU offers students an opportunity to propose their research projects to the school under the Undergraduate Research Day, an annual event where students of the institution present research work for funding and global recognition.

KWASU intends to locations abroad. Currently, KWASU partners with the Thammasat University in Thailand; Korean Advanced Institute of Technology (KAIST), South Korea; Columbia University, New York, USA; the University of the State of Bahia (UNEB), Salvador, Brazil; Texas Southern University, Houston, TX, USA, etc.

The teaching staff include scholars such as Prof. Leo Daniels (MLK Professor of Aeronautics and Astronautics at Massachusetts Institute of Technology, (MIT)) as Provost at the College of Engineering and Technology, Prof. Abiola Irele (Harvard University) as Provost at the College of Humanities, Management and Social Sciences; and Prof. Winston Wole Soboyejo (Princeton University) among others.

If you’re a new student, here’s how to access the KWASU Student Portal:

First, pay your acceptance fee by clicking on login sub-menu under the Pre-Admission Screening Candidates MENU, using your Jamb Registration number as your username and surname as your password. Once you have paid your acceptance fee, log out.

The next step is to login through the extreme right side ‘login.’ Then you can make other payments and proceed to register your courses as advised by your level advisor.

Also, it is important that you visit your level advisor before you start registering your courses and before you submit your registered courses on the portal.

KWASU will not be liable for any wrong payments, you can also contact the university via

We have also included the colleges and programmes offered by the Kwara State University below:

College / Programme

School of Basic Medical Sciences/ B.Sc. (Biochemistry-TUHC)

Agriculture / B. Agric. (Agriculture-TUHC)

Agriculture / B.Tech. (Food Science and Technology-TUHC)

Education / B.Sc.Ed (Business Education-TUHC)

Information & Communication Technology / B.Sc. (Mass Communication-TUHC)

Information & Communication Technology / B.Sc. (Computer Science-TUHC)

Information & Communication Technology / B.Sc (Library & Information Science-TUHC)

Pure & Applied Sciences / B.Sc. (Industrial Chemistry-TUHC)

Pure & Applied Sciences / B.Sc. (Physics and Material Science-TUHC)

Pure & Applied Sciences / B.Sc. (Microbiology-TUHC)

Pure & Applied Sciences / B.Sc. (Statistics-TUHC)

Pure & Applied Sciences / B.Sc. (Geology and Mineral Science-TUHC)

Engineering & Technology / B.Eng. (Material Science and Engineering-TUHC)

Engineering & Technology / B.Eng. (Electrical and Computer Engineering-TUHC)

Engineering & Technology / B.Eng. (Agricultural Engineering-TUHC)

Engineering & Technology / B.Eng. (Mechanical Engineering-TUHC)

Engineering & Technology / B.Eng.(Civil and Environmental Engineering-TUHC)

School of Business & Governance / B.Sc. (Business Administration-TUHC)

School of Business & Governance / B.Sc. (Banking & Finance-TUHC)

School of Business & Governance / B.Sc. (Finance-TUHC)

School of Business & Governance / B.Sc. (Economics-TUHC)

School of Business & Governance / B.Sc. (Public Administration-TUHC)

School of Business & Governance / B.Sc. (Accounting-TUHC)

School of Tourism, Hospitality & Events Management / B.Sc. (Tourism & Hospitality Management-TUHC)


Leave a Reply