How to Get a Yellow Card in Lagos

If you are traveling out of Nigeria to some countries in Africa and the Americas, a yellow card is an important document to have. A yellow card is a proof that you’ve been vaccinated against yellow fever. The vaccination in turn protects you from getting infected with the disease in countries where it is prevalent. In this article, we will discuss how to get a yellow card in Lagos.

How to Get a Yellow Card in Lagos

Read on. 

How to get a yellow card in Lagos would be discussed below: 

  • How to Get a Yellow Card in Lagos 

The procedure that is involved in getting a yellow card in Lagos, just as in other parts of the country, begins from the yellow card Nigeria portal. After successful registration on the portal, you would need to visit a Post Health office to complete the process. 

Let’s begin with the first stage, that is, registering on the yellow card Nigeria portal. 

How to register on the yellow card Nigeria portal would be discussed below: 

  • Visit the yellow card Nigeria portal at 
  • Click on the menu bar at the top right corner of your screen (if you are using a mobile phone), then select “Register”
  • You would be expected to fill in your personal information including your surname, other name and your date of birth
  • On the same page, select your gender 
  • Next, enter your active mobile number 
  • From the options of “Nigerian Passport” and “Foreign Passport”, choose the former. Then, input the unique ID number of your international passport in the field provided for that information 
  • Provide your email address 
  • Supply your house address, and an alternative address (meaning you would need to provide two residential addresses) 
  • Next, select “Lagos” from the list of States in Nigeria
  • At the bottom of the page, you’d see that you would have to pay N2000 to complete the registration. The payment options include Visa, MasterCard, remita, internet banking, mobile banking and bank branches 
  • Click on your preferred payment option from the available options 
  • Tick the “I am not a robot” reCAPTCHA box
  • Click on “Pay Now” to make the payment using your preferred option. If you are not ready to pay, click on “Pay Later”

N/B: If you pick the bank branches option of payment, you’d be provided with an RRR code which you will have to print and take to any recognized commercial bank in Nigeria to make the payment. 

After you have completed your registration on the yellow card Nigeria portal and made the payment of N2000, the next step of the process is to go to the Post Health office in Lagos that’s closest to you. You would need to go along with the payment confirmation and a copy of your passport bio-data page. 

The Port Health office in Lagos is located along the Murtala Mohammed International Airport road in Mafoluku Oshodi. You’d see the yellow-colored building right by the tollgate on the way to MMIA. If you are coming from Ikeja, the building is visible to your left, just before the tollgate. 

At the Port Health office, the documents you brought along such as the payment confirmation and a copy of your passport biodata page would have to be confirmed by the officials. Thereafter, you would be given the vaccine if you hadn’t recently received one. Then, you will be issued a yellow card. But in the case where you have been vaccinated for yellow fever in the past, you would not need to take another shot of the vaccine. Just go along with your old yellow card as proof. 

Aside from the Port Health office we just mentioned above, other places you can get a yellow card in Lagos include the Tincan Island SeaPort as well as all the federal secretariats across the state. Furthermore, the Idiroko border and Seme border are other places where you can get a yellow card in  Lagos. However, we would not advise that you get your yellow card from these land borders as you would spend more than what you should have spent if you had gotten it from the other options we earlier mentioned. 

  • What is the Perfect Time to Get Vaccinated before Travelling Out of the Country? 

You should get vaccinated at least 10 days before your departure date. If you took a yellow fever vaccine and you immediately want to travel out of Nigeria, some immigration officials may try to force you to stay more days before you travel out. 

  • Which Set of People is Exempt from Getting a Yellow Fever Card? 

We should let you know that you don’t need to get a yellow fever card anytime you are traveling out of Nigeria. Certain countries do not require that you have a yellow fever vaccination to gain entry into their lands. However, many African countries and over a  dozen counties in the Americas require the yellow card. So, do well to check if the country you’d be traveling to would need a yellow card. 

Aside from the exemption as a result of countries that do not require a yellow card, children below ten years of age are exempt. This is because, at 9 months, every Nigerian child is vaccinated against yellow fever. Also, pregnant women and nursing mothers are exempt, as well as adults over 60 years of age. 

Remember, if you had been vaccinated against yellow in the recent past you would not have to take another shot when you apply to get a new yellow card. Just take your old card to the Port Health office. 

  • List of Countries that Require that You Have a Yellow Card before You Can be Allowed Entry 

We’ve earlier established that countries with the prevalence of yellow fever disease always need a yellow card to ensure both their citizens and travellers are safe from the disease. You should know there is no known car of yellow fever yet. 

Here are the countries you need to get a yellow card to travel to:


  • Angola
  • Benin
  • Burkina Faso
  • Burundi
  • Cameroon 
  • Central African Republic 
  •  Chad
  • Republic of Congo 
  • Côte d’Ivoire 
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Ethiopia
  • Gabon 
  • Gambia
  • Ghana
  • Guinea 
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Kenya
  • Liberia
  • Mali
  • Mauritania
  • Niger 
  • Nigeria
  • Senegal 
  • Sierra Leone 
  • South Sudan
  • Sudan 
  • Togo
  • Uganda 

The Americas 

  • Argentina 
  • Bolivia
  • Brazil
  • Colombia
  • Ecuador
  • French Guiana
  • Guyana 
  • Panama
  • Peru
  • Suriname
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Venezuela 


error: Content is Read-Only!!