Nigerian Ministers Salary: See What They Earn

Nigeria ministers are members of the Cabinet of Nigeria. The Cabinet is headed by the President Commander-in-Chief of the Armed Forces, who is presently Muhammadu Buhari. The ministers are appointed by the president and he also has the full right to sack them if he feels so.


They are expected to oversee all the ministers in Nigeria and give report back to the President.  They make such reports available to the President during Executive Council Meetings.  As at today, there are only 19 ministers in the Cabinet of Nigeria.

In this write-up, you will get to learn about the various ministers, their portfolio and what they earn per month.   They were sworn in on November 11th 2015 by President Muhammadu Buhari.

In total, all the ministers will be paid N487 million annually as remuneration.  The amount was agreed upon by the Revenue Mobilization, Allocation and Fiscal Commission (RMAFC). This was guided by the Remuneration Act of 2007.

Breakdown of the remunerations is highlighted below:

  • Basic salary is N2,026,400
  • Car Refueling an d Service is N1,519,000
  • Domestic Staff is N1519,000
  • Entertainment is N911,800
  • Utilities cost N607,920.
  • Personal Assistant allowance is N506,600
  • Monitoring allowance is N405,280
  • Newspaper allowance is N303,960.
  • Leave Allowance is N202,640.
  • Tour duty allowance is N35,000.
  • Estacode allowance is $900 per night
  • Housing allowance is N4,052,800.
  • Furniture allowance is N6,079,200.
  • Motor Vehicle loan is N8,105,600.

The amount outlined above is paid to the ministers on annual basis. The Ministers of State on the other hand receive 88% of what the regular ministers are paid.

It must be noted that Nigerian ministers were paid far higher than this in previous administrations. However, the economic realities of present day necessitated the downward review in remunerations for Nigeria ministers.

As hinted earlier, there are 18 ministries in the Nigerian cabinet.

  • Minister of justice is Abubakar Malami
  • Minister of Foreign Affairs is Geoffrey Onyeama
  • Minister of of Finance is Folake Adeosun
  • Minister of Defense is Mansur Dan Ali
  • Minister of Education is Adamu Adamu
  • Minister of Industry, Trade and Investment is Enyinnaya Okechukwu Enelema
  • Minister of Labour and Employment is Chris Ngige
  • Minister of Federal Capital Territory is Mohammed Musa Bello
  • Minister of Science and Technology is Ogbonnaya Onu
  • Minister of Solid Minerals is John Kayode Fayemi
  • Minister of Interior is Abdulrahman Bello Dambazau
  • Minister of Budget and National Planning is Udoma Udo Udoma
  • Minister of Power, Work and Housing is Babatunde Fashola
  • Minister of Agriculture and Rural Development is Audu Ogbe
  • Minister of Transportation is Rotimi Amaechi
  • Minister of Health is Isaac Adewole
  • Minister of Women Affairs is Aisha Jumai Alhassan
  • Minister of Niger Delta is Usani Usani Uguru
  • Minister of Information is Lai Mohammed
  • Minister of Environment is Aminu J. Mohammed
  • Minister of Water Resources is Suleiman Adamu Kazaure
  • Minister of Youth and Sports is Solomon Dalung
  • Minister for Communication is Adebayo Shittu

The minister of petroleum resources is none other than President Muhammadu Buhari.


1 thought on “Nigerian Ministers Salary: See What They Earn”

Leave a Comment

error: Content is Read-Only!!