List of APC Governors & Their States

The All Progressives Congress (APC) is one of the major political parties in Nigeria. The party was formed on the 6th of February, 2013 in anticipation of the 2015 elections. The People’s Democratic Party had won every Presidential election between 1999 and 2011 and was the presidential political party until the 2015 elections when the APC candidate, Muhammadu Buhari won the Presidential seat.

This article is about the outcome of the 2019 governorship elections for the All Progressives Congress (APC) and the controversies that ensued thereafter. Governors in Nigeria are elected for a term of four years and a maximum of two terms.  The All Progressives Congress won the governorship seat in 15 states of the 36 states in Nigeria.

Below is a list of APC state governors, their respective deputy governors and the number of votes won by the APC for each state at the 2019 governorship elections which were held on the 9th of March 2019. The governorship elections were held for 29 of the 36 states of Nigeria.

List of APC Governors & Their States

List of APC Governors & Their States

State: Borno State

Governor: BabaGana Umara

Deputy Governor: Umar Usman Kadafur

Year of Election: 2019

Number of votes: 1,175,445

State: Edo State

Governor: Godwin Obaseki

Deputy Governor: Philip Shaibu

Year of Election: 2016

State: Ekiti State

Governor: Kayode Fayemi

Deputy Governor: Kolapo Olushola

Year of Election: 2014

State: Gombe State

Governor: Muhammad Inuwa Yahaya

Deputy Governor: Manasseh Daniel Jatau

Year of Election: 2019

Number of votes: 364,179

State: Jigawa State

Governor: Badaru Abubakar

Deputy Governor: Umar Alhaji Namadi

Year of Election: 2019

Number of votes: 810,933

State: Kaduna State

Governor: Nasir Ahmad el-Rufai

Deputy Governor: Yusuf Barnabas Bala

Year of Election: 2019

Number of votes: 1,044,710

State: Kano State

Governor: Abdullahi Umar Ganduje

Deputy Governor: Hafiz Abubakar

Year of Election: 2015

State: Katsina State

Governor: Aminu Bello Masari

Deputy Governor: Mannir Yakubu

Year of Election: 2019

Number of votes: 1,178,868

State: Kebbi State

Governor: Abubakar Atiku Bagudu

Deputy Governor: Samaila Yombe Dabai

Year of Election: 2019

Number of votes: 673,717

State: Kogi State

Governor: Yahaya Bello

Deputy Governor: Simon Achuba

Year of Election: 2016

State: Kwara State

Governor: AbdulRahman AbdulRasaq

Deputy Governor: Kayode Alibi

Year of Election: 2019

Number of votes: 331,546

State: Lagos State

Governor: Babajide Sanwo-Olu

Deputy Governor: Kadri Obafemi Hamzat

Year of Election: 2019

Number of votes: 739,445

State: Nasarawa State

Governor: Abdullahi Sule

Deputy Governor: Emmanuel Agbadu Akabe

Year of Election: 2019

Number of votes: 327,229

State: Niger State

Governor: Abubakar Sani Bello

Deputy Governor: Ahmed Muhammad Ketso

Year of Election: 2019

Number of votes: 526,351

State: Ogun State

Governor: Dapo Abiodun

Deputy Governor: Salako-Oyedele Noimot Olurotimi

Year of Election: 2019

Number of votes: 241,670

State: Ondo State

Governor: Oluwarotimi Odunayo Akeredolu

Deputy Governor: Agboola Ajayi

Year of Election: 2017

State: Osun State

Governor: Adegboyega Oyetola

Deputy Governor: Gboyega Alabi

Year of Election: 2018

State: Plateau State

Governor: Simon Lalong

Deputy Governor: Sonni Gwanle Tyoden

Year of Election: 2015

Number of votes: 562,109

State: Yobe State

Governor: Mai Mala Buni

Deputy Governor: Idi Barade Gubana

Year of Election: 2019

Number of votes: 444,013

State: Imo State

Governor: Hope Uzodinma

Deputy Governor: Professor Placid Njoku

Year of Election: 2020

The results from the 29 states where elections were held showed the two major political parties both won and lost states. The All Progressives Congress, which controls the centre, won in 15 states; while the main opposition Peoples Democratic Party won elections in 14 states. The breakdown of results showed that the APC had a net loss of states while the PDP had a gain.

The APC Zamfara state governorship candidate was declared the winner of the election in the state. However, the case was taken to court by the PDP and the Supreme Court ruled that the PDP governorship candidate, Bello Marawalle and his running mate, Mahdi Aliyu Gusau be returned as Governor-elect and Deputy governor-elect respectively.

The governorship election did not hold in Kogi state, Osun state, Edo state, Ekiti state, Bayelsa state, Ondo state and Anambra state. This is because their elections fell outside the election cycle. Governorship elections in these states were held at different times or `off-season’, due to court judgments that nullified the election of their governors in the past.

In Osun State, the Peoples Democratic Party challenged the results of the election which declared Gboyega Oyetola as Governor of the State. Although the governorship election tribunal in Abuja declared the PDP Candidate, Ademola Adeleke the winner, the Supreme Court upheld the ruling of the court of appeal and declared Gboyega Oyetola of APC the governor of Osun state.

Elections in Plateau state, Benue state, Adamawa state, Kano state, Sokoto state, and Bauchi state were declared inconclusive. Elections are declared inconclusive for only one reason when the number of canceled votes can mathematically affect the outcome of the election.

So, for instance, if the margin of victory between the first-placed candidate and the second-placed candidate is 100, the number of canceled votes cannot be any more than 99.

If the number exceeds this and is about 101, or higher, then the election will have to be declared inconclusive since the second-placed candidate could have won the election if all 101 canceled votes cast their votes for just that candidate.

The electoral process in Rivers state was suspended due to reported violence during the exercise but was later held on the 3rd of April, where the INEC declared that the incumbent governor, Nyesom Wike won the re-election.

History of APC leading up to the 2019 elections

The All Progressive Congress was formed on the 6th of February, 2013 in anticipation of the 2015 elections. In 2015, the APC candidate Muhammadu Buhari won the presidential election by almost 2.6 million votes. APC also won the majority of seats in the Senate and the House of Representatives. 2015 was the first time in Nigeria’s political history that an opposition political party unseated a ruling party in a general election and one in which power was transferred peacefully from one political party to the other. It was also the first time an incumbent president had lost re-election in Nigeria.

In 2019, Muhammadu Buhari was elected to a second term. However, the PDP rejected the outcome of the elections and have taken the case to court.






Leave a Comment

error: Content is Read-Only!!