Service Chiefs in Nigeria: Full Detail

The Nigerian president, Muhammadu Buhari named new set of service chiefs for the Nigerian armed forces on July 2015 just few days after he assumed office of the president. Those appointed were Major general Abayomi Gabriel Olonishakin, Major General T.Y. Buratai, Rear Admiral Ibok Ete Ekwe Ibas and Vice Marshal Sadique Abubakar.


Air Vice Marshal Sadique Abubakar was appointed as Chief of Air Staff. Rear Admiral Ibok-Ete Ibas was appointed as the Chief of Naval Staff. Major General T.Y.

Buratai was appointed as Chief of Army Staff. Major General Abayomi Gabriel Olonishakin on the other hand was appointed as the Chief of Defense Staff.

Other appointments made by the president were those of Chief of Defense Intelligence represented by Air Vice Marshal Monday Riku and that of National Security Adviser, Retired Major-General Babagana Monguno.

Major General Abayomi Gabriel Olonishakin hails from Ekiti-State, Nigeria. His predecessor at TRADOC was ACM A.S Badeh.  He was formerly Commander, Training and Doctrine Command (TRADOC) Nigerian Army, a position he occupied from September 2013 to July 2015.

He was also Commander, Nigerian Army Corps of Signals, an office he occupied from January 2013 to September 2013. He graduated from Obafemi Awolowo University, Nigerian Defense Academy and Nigerian Military School.  He had been in service since 1979.

Major General T.Y. Buratai came into office as Chief of Army Staff on July 13, 2015.  He was preceded by Lt. General Kenneth Minimah.  Before his appointment as Chief of Army Staff, he was the Commander, Multinational Joint Task Force.

He was born on 24th November, 1960. He graduated from University of Maiduguri before he proceeded to the Nigerian Defense Academy.  He joined the army in 1981.  His present rank is Lieutenant-General.

He has been involved in the battle against Boko Haram insurgency in the Northeastern part of Nigeria since he assumed office as the Chief of Army Staff.

Rear Admiral Ibok-Ete Ekwe Ibas is the current 22nd Chief of Naval Staff in Nigeria. He came into office on July 13th.  He was preceded by Admiral U.O. Jibrin.  He joined the Nigerian Navy in 1979.

He was formerly the commander, Flag Officer Commanding, Western Naval Command Chief Staff Officer and Naval Training Command. He originated from Cross River State, Nigeria.

He was commissioned as a sub-lieutenant in 1983. He and General Abayomi Olonishakin were school mates in the Nigerian Defense Academy. He was formerly the Chief Executive Officer of the Navy Holdings Limited.

Air Vice Marshal Sadique Abubakar was born on April 8, 1960.  He is the present Chief of Air Staff of the Nigerian Airforce.  He assumed office as the Chief of Sir staff on July 13th 2015.  His predecessor was Air Vice Marshal Amosu.

He originates from Bauchi State, Nigeria. Her attended St. Paul’s Primary School, Bauchi and later Government Secondary School, Bauchi before joining the Nigerian Airforce on November 1979.

He had a diploma in Public Administration and also Bachelor of Science degree in Political Science.  Additionally, he has a Masters of Science Degree in Strategic Studies from the University of Ibadan.

He was formerly the Chief of Standards and Evaluation at NAF Headquarters. Also, he was formerly Chief of Defense Communication and also Air Officer Commanding, NAF Training Command.

1 thought on “Service Chiefs in Nigeria: Full Detail”

  1. My gallants services Chief of our great country Nigeria.
    I salute you all.
    I used dis medium to implored u all to use ur respective offices to end d insecurity in d country.

Leave a Comment

error: Content is Read-Only!!