Commissioners in Lagos State: The Full List

Lagos is an economically outstanding state. The state is next to the Atlantic ocean and this makes it a real economic powerhouse in Nigeria. Lagos is equally the former seat of the federal government and this is largely responsible for the great economic impact the state has in Nigeria.


A huge percentage of the companies in Nigeria have presence in Lagos state. This also contributes a great dela to the economic dominion of the state. This huge number of companies has enabled Lagos to generate huge internally generated revenue.

At the end of the first quarter of 2016, Lagos state was able to generate up to 101 billion naira.

Lagos is sometimes referred to as Lagos State to distinguish it from Lagos Metropolitan Area. The state is located in the southwestern geopolitical zone of Nigeria. Lagos state is the smallest among the states in Nigeria’s 36 states. The State is arguably the most economically important state of the country.

The state contains Lagos, which is Nigeria’s largest urban area. The actual population of Lagos is disputed. The official population according to Nigerian Census of 2006 is somewhat smaller than the much higher figure claimed by the Lagos State Government.

Lagos State is located in the south-western part of the Nigerian Federation. On the North and East it is bounded by Ogun State. In the West it shares boundaries with the Republic of Benin

The list below make up the present commissioners and special advisers appointed by Governor Akinwumi Ambode shortly after he assumed office as governor of the state. The governor appointed 23 commissioners and 14 special advisers. They were inaugurated in October 2015.

• Prof Ademola Abass- Special Adviser Office of Overseas affairs
• Dr Abdul lateef Abdulhakeem- Commissioner home affairs
• Dr Samuel Adejare- Commissioner for Environment
• Barrister Kazeem Adeniji- Commissioner for Justice/AG
• Lola Akande- Commissioner for Women affairs
• Huzamat Akinbile- Commissioner for Youth&Social Dev
• Mustapha Akinkunmi- Commissioner for Finance
• Engr Ade Akinsanya- Commissioner for Waterfront infrastructure development
• Benson Akintola- Commissioner for Establishment and training
• Wasiu Anifowoshe- Commissioner for physical planning
• Yemi Ashade- Commissioner for Economic planning & budget
• Steve Ayorinde- Commissioner for Information
• Kehinde Bamigbetan- Special Adviser Community and Communications
• Fela Bank Olemoh- Special Adviser Education
• Agboola Dabiri- Special Adviser CBD
• Durosinmi-Etti; Commissioner for Wealth creation
• Anofi Elegushi- Special Adviser Transportation
• Folly Coker- Commissioner for Tourism
• Musiliu Folami- Commissioner for Local Government
• Tunde Hunpe- Special Adviers Environment
• Jide Idris- Commisioner for Health
• Ganiyu Johnson- Commissioner for Works
• Kehinde Joseph- Special Adviser Civic Engagement
• Gbolahan Lawal- Commissioner for Housing
• Dayo Mobereola- Commissioner for Transport
• Ben Olabinjo- Special Adviser Commerce
• Femi Odubiyi- Commissioner for Science and Technology
• Wale Oluwo- Commissioner for Energy
• Seye Oladejo- Special Adviser Special duties
• Yetunde Onabule- Special Adviser Urban Development
• Toyin Suarau- Commissioner for Agriculture
• Deji Tinubu- Special Adviser Sports
• Rotimi Ogunleye- Commissioner for Commerce
• Mudirat Giwanson- Special Adviser Housing
• Femi Onanuga- Special Adviser Primary Health Care
• Bimpe Akinsola- Special Adviser Arts and Culture

Leave a Comment

error: Content is Read-Only!!