Tiers of Government in Nigeria

The Nigerian government structure is made up of three tiers, which are the federal government, state government and the local government. The three of them are involved in delivering dividends of democracy to the people.


They each have their roles to play as entities, but they also collaborate in certain respects, especially when it has to do with management and financing.  This ensures improvement in performance and accountability.

The federal government is involved in defense, shipping federal trunk roads, aviation, railways, posts, telegraphs, telephones, police and other security services. They are also involved in regulation of telecommunications, interstate commerce and labour.

ALSO READ:  Commissioners in Lagos State: The Full List

Federal sees to mines and minerals resources, guidelines for minimum education standards at every level of education and water resources.

Both federal and state collaborate to see to antiquities and monuments, university, technological and post-primary educations; health and social welfare; statistics and surveys; scientific and technological research; industrial, commercial and agricultural development and electricity.

State and local governments collaborate on issues related to development of agriculture and non-mineral natural resources, health services and primary, adult and vocational education.

ALSO READ:  When Did Nigeria Start Using Naira and Kobo?

The local government deals with issues related to roads, streets, street lighting, drains and other public facilities; sewage and refuse disposal, homes for destitute and infirm, cemeteries and burial grounds and economic planning and development.

Funding for the three is mostly being provided by the federal government. Certain percentage of the monthly allocation goes to states and the states. States and local governments presently have joint account. This means states disburse funds needed by the local governments under them.


Advertise Here
Click For More Information

Share This Post With Your Friends...
Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Share on LinkedIn

You’ll Love These Posts…


Add a Comment
  1. Gboy Abdulmumeen Salis

    We have three tiers of Government which are;
    1. Federal Govenment
    2. State Government
    3. Local Government

  2. Corlss White

    I have a dream to visit Africa

  3. Nora

    Nice educating notes

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Nigerian Finder © 2013-2016