Nigerian Air Force Ranks and Salary Structure (2023) & More


If you’re looking to know how the Nigerian Air Force ranks its commissioned and non-commissioned officers, then this page is for you.

Here, you’ll also get to learn other interesting details about the force, such as the Nigerian Air Force salary structure, the Nigerian Air Force Logo and what it stands for, the force’s bases all over the country, and so on.

Nigerian Air Force Ranks and Salary Structure ([year]) & More

Nigerian Air Force Ranks for Commissioned officers

There are 11 ranks in the Nigerian Airforce for non-commissioned officers. They are listed below:

  1. Marshal of the Nigerian Air Force
  2. Air Chief Marshal
  3. Air Marshal
  4. Air Vice-Marshal
  5. Air Commodore
  6. Group Captain
  7. Wing Commander
  8. Squadron Leader
  9. Flight Lieutenant
  10. Flying Officer
  11. Pilot Officer

Nigerian Air Force Ranks for non-commissioned officers

There are 9 ranks in the Nigerian Airforce for non-commissioned officers. They are listed below:

  1. Air Warrant Officer
  2. Master Warrant Officer
  3. Warrant Officer
  4. Flight Sergeant
  5. Sergeant
  6. Corporal
  7. Lance-Corporal
  8. Aircraftman
  9. Recruit

Nigerian Air Force Ranks and Salary Structure

Non-commissioned officers’ salaries

  • Air Warrant Officer: N171,793 per month
  • Master Warrant Officer: N165,697 per month
  • Warrant Officer: N101,974 per month
  • Flight Sergeant: N87,119 per month
  • Sergeant: N69,261 per month
  • Corporal: N58,634 per month
  • Lance Corporal: N55,832 per month
  • Aircraftman: N53,892 per month
  • Cadet (Trainee): N44,564 per month

Commissioned officers’ salaries

  • Air Chief Marshal: N1,724,283
  • Air Marshal: 1,486,451
  • Air Vice Marshal: N1,376,343
  • Air Commodore: N677,895
  • Group Captain: N352,631
  • Wing Commander: N342,586
  • Squadron Leader: N248,004
  • Flight Lieutenant: N232,484
  • Flying Officer: N218,400
  • Pilot Officer: N187,159

Nigerian Air Force Logo/Emblem

Nigerian Air Force Ranks and Salary Structure ([year]) & More

The Nigerian Air Force Logo is a combination of the National Coat of Arms and other elements that make the graphic representation a unique entity. The base of the logo is formed by a scroll bearing the words, “Nigeria Air Force”.

Above the scroll are two pairs of wheat cobs held together at the lower end, which is tucked behind the scroll. At the upper end, the two pairs are separated by a small Nigerian flag. This makes the cobs assume a V-shape. Sitting right on the Nigerian flag is an eagle, which, in turn, carries the Nigerian Coat of Arms on its back.

Except for the Nigerian flag and coat of arms, every other element in the Nigerian Air Force Logo is coloured yellow.

Nigerian Air Force Bases

  • NAF Kaduna (the Old Kaduna Airport), Kaduna State
  • NAF Abuja, FCT
  • NAF Shasha, Lagos
  • NAF Minna (based in Minna Airport), Niger State
  • NAF Makurdi (based in Makurdi Airport), Benue State
  • NAF Benin, Edo State
  • NAF Yola, Adamawa State
  • NAF Kainji
  • NAF Jos, Plateau State
  • NAF Enugu (based in Akanu Ibiam Int’l Airport), Enugu State
  • NAF Kano (based in Aminu Kano Int’l Airport), Kano State
  • NAF Ipetu-Ijesha, Osun State
  • NAF Katsina, Katsina State

Nigerian Air Force: Additional Important Facts

The Nigerian Air Force (NAF) is the arm of the Nigerian Armed Forces that that is in charge of air military operations. The force presently has about 10,000 personnel comprising both commissioned and non-commissioned officers.

The Nigerian Air Force was established on the 18th of April 1964 following the passage by the National Assembly of the 1964 Air Force Act, which stated that the force that be saddled with the task of defending the country majorly through air operations. The aims and objectives of the force are as follows

  • To ensure quick and versatile deployment of the Armed Forces whenever necessary.
  • To complement the military defence system of the country.
  • To support the ground-based (Nigerian Army) and sea-borne forces (Nigerian Navy) in all stages of their operations.
  • To play a pivotal role in maintaining the integrity of the country as a single, united entity.
  • To improve the country’s image and prestige, which are essential in international issues.

The Chief of Air Staff acts as the presidential adviser on defence matters related to air operations. He also works with the Minister of Defence and the Chief of Defence Staff.

The rank structure of the Nigerian Air Force is similar to that of the British Royal Air Force. This is expectable, since Nigeria was colonized by the British until she gained independence on October 1, 1960.

Video: Nigerian Air Force Strike Assets

The video below reveals some of the air-strike assets presently owned by the Nigerian Air Force. Enjoy the video.

Learn more about other Armed Forces in Nigeria



  1. Edeh Jennifer....
  2. kelvin
  3. Precious Daniel
  5. Augustine chinemerem Darlington
  6. fadipe abiodun
  7. olamilekan alaba
  8. Isimak
    • Promise Israel
  9. Hassan Ibrahim
  10. Buhari
  11. Najeem
  12. Lekan
  13. idiris benzema
  14. Ridwan
  15. Oyelakin Afeez
  16. yilshap david yakubu
  17. nasiru sulaiman
    • anonymous
  18. ibrahim abdulsalam
  19. Joshua
  20. Buchi
  21. p kufre
  22. Joseph
    • Lynda
    • Lynda
  23. pius
  24. Paul
  25. Paul
  26. kunle Afolayan
    • Bela
  28. yomexwhizzy
  29. yomexwhizzy
    • Lynda
  30. yomexwhizzy
  31. Warkani Marcus Yakubu
  32. obaegbu ikechukwu Paulinus
  33. Adeleye oluwaseun
  34. okonkwo tochukwu e
  35. Obafemi Ajayi
  36. Usman
  37. philip
  40. Temitope oluwafemi fasetire
  42. Ugoh
  43. Okonkwo Emmanuel Agoziem
    • Mbonu Favour
  45. Rasheed Odunlami
  46. Shedrack peter
  47. Heke David Tersoo
  48. ikenna Emmanuel
  49. Adams Alfred
    • Ibrahim musa
      • Oche
    • lassa
    • sunny
    • Bela
  50. Danladi Victor
  51. Jerewilly
  52. Samson Mungo-Park
  53. Adeyeye Oluwasegun J
  55. Umar Sabiu Isa
    • Yaqub sabiu
    • sunny
  56. Yarima
  57. segun yekaghe
  58. umar a habib
  59. Adam Yahya Yakubu
  60. Yunusa aliyu
  61. Kingsley
    • Abutalib
      • Olowolayemo
      • Ibrahim
      • Adigun
    • Funky
    • Funky
  62. Kingsley
  64. Shakiru dauda
  65. akinbohun oluwaaeunjohn
  66. Shakiru dauda
  67. Shakiru dauda
  68. Shakiru dauda
  69. Faisal Ali
  70. chisingali samuel c
  71. Arinze Afunanya
  72. Jakes
  73. perpetual Akpa
  74. Sulaiman Abubakar Dabai
  75. james
  76. Israel
  78. kenneth
  79. Izekor osahen bright
  80. Sa'adan.
  81. Victor winner augustine
  82. Jefferson

Leave a Reply

error: Content is Read-Only!!