List of Local Governments in Lagos State


Lagos State is arguably the most economically important state in Nigeria. It is a major financial centre with both national and international trading and the presence of international and domestic companies. If Lagos state were a country, it would be the fifth-largest economy in Africa. Lagos state has the highest population density in all states of Nigeria. It is reported that the Lagos state annual GDP is 1 trillion naira.

This article gathers a list of local government areas in Lagos state and other information you need to know about them.

List of Local Governments in Lagos State

List of Local Governments in Lagos State

Read on below:

Agege LGA

Agege is both a suburb and local government area in the Ikeja Division of Lagos State.


Ajeromi-Ifelodun is in the Badagry division of Lagos state.


Alimosho is the largest local government in Lagos state. According to the 2006 census, Alimosho has an estimated population of 1,288,714 inhabitants. Alimosho LGA was established in 1945 under the (then) western region. The major inhabitants of the local government area are the Egbados. The area is rich in culture with several festivals celebrated annually. Yoruba language is widely spoken in the community.

Amuwo Odofin LGA

The indigenes of Amuwo Odofin are mainly the Aworis. There are also many traditional festivals celebrated in this part. The custodians of culture and tradition in the area are the traditional rulers.


Apapa is located in the west of Lagos Island. Apapa has a number of ports and terminals operated by the Nigerian Ports Authority (NPA). Agege is a popular commercial hub in Lagos state because it has many commercial offices involved in shipping, clearing and transportation og goods.


Badagry is both a coastal town and local government area in Lagos State. It shares borders with Benin at Seme. According to the 2006 census, Badagry has a population of 241,093 people.


Ejigbo in Lagos state is a suburb of Lagos city. It is a local council development area (LCDA) within the Oshodi-Isolo LGA.


Epe is both a town and Local Government Area in Lagos State. According to the 2006 census, Epe has a population of 181,409 people. There are also many notable festivals that are celebrated in Epe land


Eti- Osa and Lags Island LGA used to be the seat of the national capital before it was moved to Abuja. There is little industry within Eti-Osa. The major occupation here is fishing, farming, and trading. Eti-Osa is also home to many large domestic and international businesses.

Eti-Osa East

Eti- Osa East is a newly created Local Government Area in Lagos state. It was carved out from the former Eti-Osa LGA.


The administrative centre of Ibeju- Lekki was formerly at Akodo and was later moved to Igando Oloja because of the establishment of Lekki Council Development Area. The name, Ineju- Lekki was derived from two autonomous communities, Ibeju and Lekki. Majority of the inhabitants are Yoruba speaking natives, however, people from other tribes work and do business in the area. Ibeju Lekki has potential for tourism with beautiful lagoons and ocean fronts.


Ifako- Ijaiye is both a city and local government area in Lagos state. The local government was carved out of Agege local government on the 1st of October, 1996 by General Sani Abacha, along with 183 other local governments. According to the 2006 census, Ifako Ijaiye has a population of 427,878 people.


The major tribe in Ijede are the Ijebu people. However, other tribes such as Igbo, Hausa reside in the community. The people of Ijede are renowned farmers and fisherman.

Ikeja is the capital of Lagos state, located in the southwestern part of Nigeria. According to the 2006 census, Ikeja has a population of 313,196 people. Ikeja houses the Murtala Mohammed International Airport, the Femi Kuti’s Africa Shrine and Lagbaja’s Motherland, which are venues for live music. Ikeja also has two radio stations which are Eko FM and Radio Lagos.


Ikorodu is both a city and Local government area in Lagos State, Nigeria. It is located in the north-eastern part of Lagos. It also shares borders with Ogun State. According to the 2006 census, Ikorodu has a population of 535,619 people.


Its headquarters are in the town of Kosofe. According to the 2006 census, Kosofe has a population of 665,393 people.

Lagos Island

Lagos Island, also referred to as Ìsàlẹ̀ Èkó is the main and central Local government area (LGA) in Lagos state. It is part of the Lagos Division. According to the 2006 Nigerian census, the LGA had a population of 209,437 people. Lagos Island is the part of Lagos where the Oba of Lagos resides. It is also believed that the Eyo festival can only be held on Lagos Island.

Lagos Mainland

Lagos Mainland is in the Lagos division of Lagos State.


Mushin is a residential area which is largely congested with inadequate sanitation and low-quality housing. According to the 2006 census, Mushin has a population of 633,009 people.


Ojo houses Lagos State University. It is primarily a residential township. However, it contains some major markets such as Alaba International Market, Alaba livestock market and the old Lagos International Trade Fair complex.

Ojuwoye Mushin


Mushin is a suburb of Lagos. The centre of Mushin is located around Ojuwoye Town.


Oshodi Isolo was formed by the second Nigerian republic The LGA is part of the Ikeja Division in Lagos State. According to the 2006 Census, it has a population of 621,509 people,


The administrative headquarters of Somolu is located on Durosimi street in Shomolu. Bariga area used to be a part of Somolu local government until it was carved out and established as a Local Community Development Area. Somolu is known for many things which include its printing market. It is well known and famous as a central printing hub. You will find many print shops in Somolu.


Surulere is both a residential and commercial Local Government Area which is located on the mainland of Lagos state.







Leave a Reply

error: Content is Read-Only!!