List of Local Governments in FCT


The Federal Capital Territory, which is commonly referred to as FCT is located in the central area of Nigeria. The capital city of Nigeria, Abuja is also located in this territory. Just like other states in Nigeria, the federal capital territory has local government areas which are often referred to as area councils. This article covers all information you need to know on the area councils in the Federal Capital Territory.

List of Local Governments in FCT

List of Local Governments in FCT

Read on below:


The major ethnic groups in the city of Abaji are the Egbira, Ganagana and Hausa people. History has it that the first settlement in Abuja are Egbira and Tiv people. This was before the advent of the Usman Danfodio religious war in North Central area. Abaji kingdom is headed by the Ona of Abaji (this is the oldest traditional institution in FCT, Nigeria). Abaji land used to be under the old Koton Karfe kingdom. However, the people agreed to join the federal capital territory for developmental purposes. As at 2016, Abaji has a population of 98,000 people. The area has a reasonable supply of electricity. The town is also surrounded by the Azako, Ashara and Ukya rivers. Abaji shares borders with three states in Nigeria which are Nassarawa, Niger and Kogi states. The postal code of the area is 905101. Nestle bottling company is located in Abaji Area council.


Abuja city is the capital of Nigeria. The city of Abuja is located in the centre of the country within the area of the Federal Capital Territory (FCT). The city of Abuja was well planned and built in the 1980s. On the 12th of December, 1991, Abuja was officially made the capital of the country, replacing the country’s most populous city, Lagos.

Since the independence of Nigeria, plans were put in place to have its capital in a place deemed neutral to all major ethnic groups in the country. This was considered crucial because of ethnic and religious divisions in Nigeria. The centre of the country was later chosen because of its neutrality and capability to foster national unity. Another reason Abuja was chosen as the capital of the country was because of the population boom in Lagos city which made Lagos overcrowded.

In light of these, Decree No. 6 was promulgated by the Federal Military Government on the 4th of February, 1976, which initiated the removal of the Federal Capital from Lagos to Abuja. Abuja has some national edifices such as the Aso Rock, the presidential complex, National Assembly, Supreme court, Zuma rock, the Nigerian National Mosque, the Nigerian National Christian Centre. The city is also served by the Nnamdi Azikiwe International Airport.

According to the 2006 census, the city of Abuja has a population of 776,298 people. This makes it one of the ten most populous cities in Nigeria. Abuja is Nigeria’s administrative and political centre. It is also a major city on the African continent because of Nigeria’s influence on other countries on the continent. Abuja is a conference centre for various meetings that involve other nations in Africa. Some of the annual meetings that have been held in Nigeria includes the 2003 Commonwealth Heads of Government meeting and the 2014 World Economic Forum (Africa) meeting. The indigenous inhabitants of Abuja are the Gbagyi people, while the Gbagyi language used to be the major of the region language,


Gwagwalada is another major area council in Abuja. Gwagwalada Area Council was created on the 15th of October 1984. The capital of Gwagwalada Area Council is Gwagwalada city. According to the 2006 census, Gwagwalada has a population of 157,770 people. Before Abuja was made the Federal Capital Territory, Gwagwalada was under the Kwali district in the former Abuja emirate, now the Suleja emirate.

According to the 2006 census, Gwagwalada has a population of 158,618 people. The relocation of the administrative seat of the country from Lagos to Abuja in 1992 brought a massive influx of people into Gwagwalada Area Council. This, coupled with the recent demolition of illegal structures in Abuja. Now, Gwagwalada is one of the fastest-growing urban centers in the Federal Capital Territory. The postal code of the area is 902101.


Bwari is both a district and an area council in the Federal Capital Territory of Nigeria. The indigenous inhabitants of the town are the Gbagyi people. The history of Bwari dates as far back to the seventeenth century when a Zaria-based hunter came with his family to hunt in the area. Legend has it that at that time, there was a place called Bwayape, also known as Bwari Hill. Bwayape means ‘pound here’. It is said that the Zaria based hunter had given his wife some millet. After which, she asked him where she could pound it and he said, ‘pound here’; and that is how the name came about. The name ‘Bwayapa’ later metamorphosed into the name ‘Bwari’.

Legend also has it that the four children of this hunter once went swimming and were given the task of retrieving a precious object from the depth of the river. The last of the four children, Dadadogunyi was the one who succeeded at the task. However, because of his place in the family (as the last child) he could not ascend the throne, so his elder brother, Tayebebe was crowned king. The object to be retrieved at that task is still a symbol in the turbanning process of the Bwari people.


According to the 2006 census, Kuje has a population of 97,367 people. The postal code of the area is 905. The area is witnessing rapid expansion in house building because of its proximity to Abuja.


The headquarters of Kwali area council is in the town of Kwali. According to the 2006 census, Kwali has a population of 85,837 people. The postal code of the area is 904105. Kwali was carved out from the Gwagwalada Area Council on October 1, 1996 by the military administration of General Sani Abacha. The people of Kwali local government area are renowned for their pottery skills. Kwali is the home of the world-famous potter woman, Dr. Ladi Kwali whose image is currently on the 20 naira note. Kwali people are also known for other professions such as cloth-making, farming, hunting and trading.







One Response

  1. vitus sengi

Leave a Reply

error: Content is Read-Only!!