Top 10 Largest States in Nigeria

Nigeria, officially known as the Federal Republic of Nigeria is located in the Western part of Africa. The country covers a landmass of 923,768km2. Nigeria is also known as the ‘Giant of Africa’. This is because of its large population and economy. With a population of about 186 million, Nigeria bags the most populous country in Africa and takes the position of the seventh most populous country in the world. Nigeria comprises 36 states and 1 Federal capital territory, Abuja. Have you ever wondered which among these states is the largest? This article provides information on the ten largest states in the large and populous country, Nigeria.

Top 10 Largest States in Nigeria

Top 10 Largest States in Nigeria

Read on below:

Niger state 

The largest state by land mass goes to the Niger state. Niger state is located in Central Nigeria. Niger state is home to the Gurara fall, a major tourist site in Nigeria. Niger state also has the famous Kainji and Shiroro dam, this is why it is called the ‘power state’ Niger state is named after River Niger. It comprises 25 local governments and a total area of 76,363 km2 and a total population of 3,954,772 according to the 2006 census.

Borno State

This is the second largest state in the whole of Nigeria. Borno state is located in north-eastern Nigeria. Borno state was created on 3 February 1976. The capital is Maiduguri. Borno state comprises 27 local government areas. The main religion in this state is Islam with few Christians. Sharia law is also functional in the state. Borno state has a total area 57,799 km2 and a total population (2006): 4,171,104

Taraba State

Taraba state is the third-largest state in Nigeria. The state was created in August 1991. It is majorly an agricultural state with beautiful scenery. It is located in North-Eastern Nigeria. The state was named after the Taraba River which is found in the southern part of the state. The capital of Taraba is Jalingo. Taraba State shares borders with Nasarawa State and Benue State to its west, Plateau state to its northwest, Bauchi state and Gombe state to its north, Cameroon to its east and south and Adamawa state to its northeast. It has a total area of 54,473km2 and sixteen local governments

Kaduna State

Kaduna state is located in the northwestern part of Nigeria. It is the fourth largest state and one of the oldest in Nigeria. Kaduna state comprises 23 local government areas and a total area of 46,053 km2. The capital of Kaduna state is Kaduna.

Bauchi State

Bauchi state was formed in 1976 when the former North-Eastern State was split. Bauchi state was originally included the area which is now in Gombe State but became a distinct state in 1996. Bauchi state is home to a number of tourist sites such as the Yankari National Park, Wikki warm springs.  Bauchi state has a total area of 49,119km2

Yobe State 

Yobe state is located in Northeast Nigeria. It is mainly an agricultural state. Yobe state was created on August 27, 1991. Yobe State is the sixth largest state in Nigeria, with a total area of 45,502kmand 17 local government areas. Yobe state was carved out of Borno State and is usually called the Young state due to when it was created. The capital of Yobe state is Damaturu. The slogan of Yobe state is ‘The young shall grow’

Zamfara State

Zamfara state is located in North-western Nigeria. The state is dubbed the ‘Home of Agricultural product’ and is the seventh-largest state in Nigeria. The capital of Zamfara state is Gusau. Until 1996, Zamfara state was part of the area that is now Sokoto State. Zamfara state has a total area of 38,418 square kilometres. It shares borders with Niger Republic to its north, Kaduna state to its South, Katsina to its east and to the West by Sokoto and Niger States. According to the 2006 census, the Niger state has a population of 3,278,873 and has fourteen local government areas. Zamfara state was the first in Nigeria to introduce the system of Sharia law in Nigeria. The predominant religions in the state are Islam and Christianity

Adamawa State

Adamawa state is located in north-eastern Nigeria. Its capital is Yola. Before Adamawa state became a state in Nigeria, it used to be a subordinate kingdom of the Sultanate of Sokoto along with much of northern Cameroon. In 1991, when Taraba state was carved out from Gongola State in 1991, the geographical entity called Gongola state was renamed Adamawa State. Adamawa state is also known as the land of beauty. Adamawa state has a total area of 36,917km2 Adamawa State comprises twenty-one Local Government Areas

Adamawa state shares borders with Borno state to its northwest, Gombe state to its west, Taraba state to its southwest, and Cameroon to its east. The major occupation of the people is farming while the village communities who live by the river engage in fishing.

Kwara State 

Kwara state is located in Western Nigeria. Its capital is Ilorin. It is the ninth-largest state in Nigeria. The state was created in May 1967. Kwara is located within the North Central geopolitical zone, which is commonly referred to as the Middle Belt. Kwara state has a total area of 36,852km2. The slogan of Kwara state is the ‘State of Harmony’. The primary ethnic group in Kwara state is Yoruba with an existing minority group of Nupe, Bariba, and Fulani.

Kebbi State

This is the tenth largest state in Nigeria. It is located in north-western Nigeria. Its capital is Birnin Kebbi. Kebbi state was created in August 1991, out of a part of Sokoto State. Kebbi State shares borders with Sokoto State, Niger State, Zamfara State, the Republic of Benin and some part of the Republic of Niger, Dosso region. Kebbi state has a total area of 36,800 km, 21 local government areas, and 35 districts. The slogan of the Kebbi state is the land of equity.

There you go, the ten largest states in Nigeria.




1 thought on “Top 10 Largest States in Nigeria”

Leave a Comment

error: Content is Read-Only!!