Top 5 Richest Senators in Nigeria in 2022

In this article, we’ll be discussing the richest senators of the 9th Assembly in Nigeria in 2022. Keep on reading to see which lawmaker made the list of richest senators in Nigeria in 2022. 

Top 5 Richest Senators in Nigeria in 2022

The top 5 richest senators in Nigeria in 2022 would be discussed below: 

  • Orji Uzor Kalu 

Orji Uzor Kalu is one of the top 5 richest senators in Nigeria in 2022. He is representing Abia North Senatorial District, assuming office on June 11, 2019, after defeating Mao Ohuabunwa at the polls. Orji Uzor Kalu is currently the Chief Whip of the House of Senate of the Federal Republic of Nigeria. Before occupying this current elective position as senator, Orji Uzor Kalu had served as Governor of Abia State from May 29, 1999, to May 29, 2007. 

Unlike some Nigerian politicians that made money mainly from being public officers, Orji Uzor Kalu had been involved in different kinds of businesses right from his teenage years when he was a student at the University of Maiduguri. With a $35 loan he got from his mother, he began buying palm oil from the southeastern part of the country and selling it in the northern region of the country. After his suspension from the University of Maiduguri for participating in the famous ‘Ali Must Go’ riots, young Orji Uzor Kalu decided to leave school and build his business. Later on, he bought and sold furniture on a large scam, imported rice and sugar at some point, and even supplied military equipment to the Nigerian Army and food to soldiers at the forefront. 

As a young man, Orji Uzor Kalu established SLOK Holdings, which has grown to become one of Nigeria’s most successful conglomerates, comprising companies such as Ojialex Furniture Company, SLOK Nigeria Limited, Supreme Oil Limited, SLOK Vegetable Oil, SLOK Paper Factory, among others. In fact, at the age of 33, Orji Uzor Kalu headed the First International Bank Limited. He is also the chairman of Daily Sun, as well the chairman of New Telegraph newspaper. Orji Uzor Kalu is estimated to be worth a little above a billion dollars in 2022. 

  • Ahmad Ibrahim Lawan 

Ahmad Ibrahim Lawan is the current President of the Senate of Nigeria, and one of the richest senators in Nigeria in 2022. He has been representing Yobe North Senatorial District since May 2007, making him one of the longest-serving senators in the 9th Assembly. Before becoming President of the Senate on June 11, 2019, Ahmad Ibrahim Lawan was the Senate Majority Leader from January 10, 2017, until June 6, 2019. 

Ahmad Ibrahim Lawan was a member of the House of Representatives from May 1999, until May 2007, when he was elected into the upper chamber of the Nigerian National Assembly. Ahmad Ibrahim Lawan worked as an Education Officer in the Yobe State Ministry of Education, and then as a lecturer at the University of Maiduguri from 1987 until 1997 when he decided to make a career in politics. His 23-year-long political career puts him among the richest politicians in this democratic dispensation. 

  • Stella Oduah 

Stella Oduah is a senator representing the Anambra North Senatorial District. She is a returning senator to the 9th Assembly, assuming the position in June 2015. Before being a senator of the Nigerian upper chamber of the Nigerian National Assembly, Stella Oduah had served as a Minister of Aviation from July 4, 2011, until February 12, 2014, when she was relieved from her duties on allegations of misappropriation of funds. 

Stella Oduah worked with the Pipeline and Products Marketing Company, a subsidiary of NNPC, for seven years, right after returning to Nigeria in 1983 after the completion of her university education in the United States of America. After a seven-year stint with the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation, Stella Oduah established Sea Petroleum & Gas Company Limited, an independent marketer of petroleum products in Nigeria. She also owns International Trading and Logistics Company Limited. She’s estimated to be worth over ten million dollars as of 2022. 

  • Patrick Ifeanyi Ubah 

Ifeanyi Ubah is a serving senator representing Anambra South Senatorial District, assuming office on February 24, 2019. Before his foray into politics, Andy Ubah was an accomplished entrepreneur and businessman. At quite a young age, Andy Ubah began exporting motor tires and spare parts to several West African countries including Sierra Leone, the Democratic Republic of Congo, Ghana, and Liberia. Later on, Andy Ubah expanded his business ventures to some European countries including Belgium and the United Kingdom. 

In 2001, Andy Ubah founded Capital Oil and Gas Limited, which has recorded massive success in its two decades of existence. He is also the owner of Ifeanyi Ubah F.C., as well as the founder of The Authority Newspaper. Ifeanyi Ubah is estimated to be worth over $1 billion in 2022. 

  • Ibikunle Oyelaja Amosun 

Ibikunle Amosun is one of the richest senators in the 9th Senate Assembly. Before his election to the Nigerian Senate to represent Ogun Central in 2019, Ibikunle Amosun had been a senator representing his Senatorial District from 2003 to 2007. In 2007, he contested for the position of governor of Ogun State but lost. In 2011, he contested again for governor of Ogun State, this time, he was successful. He went on to complete two terms as governor of Ogun State, from 2011 to 2019. 

Before venturing into politics, Ibikunle Amosun enjoyed a successful career as a chartered accountant. He worked for XtraEdge Consulting as a managing consultant. By 1990, he had become the Principal Partner of Ibikunle Amosun & Co. (Chartered Accountants), an accounting firm incorporated in Lagos State. Ibikunle Amosun is one of the richest senators of the 9th Assembly. 

The 9th Assembly of the Nigerian Senate is filled with lawmakers who have made immense wealth from politics and their businesses before venturing into politics. Several other senators who are worth mentioning for their wealth include but are not limited to Mohammed Ali Ndume, Ekpenyong Christopher Stephen, Oluremi Tinubu, Dino Melaye, Ovie Augustine Omo-Agege, and Kashim Shettima. 

error: Content is Read-Only!!