Nigeria’s Golden Eaglets: First to win U-17 World Cup for 5 times


In the early hours of today, Nigeria’s Golden Eaglets successfully defended their 2013 Under 17 World Cup victory by defeating Mali 2-0 in the 2015 edition of the tournament in Chile.

With their victory, the Golden Eaglets, apart from becoming the first to win the cup for five times, have also become the second side, after Brazil, to successfully defend its championship back to back in the Under-17 World Cup tournament.

ALSO READ:  First TV Station in Nigeria

It is a happy coincidence that the Golden Eaglets are winning the trophy again during another tenure of Muhamadu Buhari as President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria. The Eaglets had won the same trophy at its maiden edition in 1985 when President Buhari was military Head of State of Nigeria. It was then that he named the team Golden Eaglets.

Can Nigeria record such successes with our older team side? We will be glad to have your views in the comments box.

ALSO READ:  Latest News on Nigeria Police Force ([month])

Source: Premium Times


1 Comment

Add a Comment
  1. Goodness

    please i need a house i will appriciate if i get help.

Leave a Reply to Goodness Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *