Nigerian Air Force Ranks and Salary Structure (2020) & More


If you’re looking to know how the Nigerian Air Force ranks its commissioned and non-commissioned officers, then this page is for you.

Here, you’ll also get to learn other interesting details about the force, such as the Nigerian Air Force salary structure, the Nigerian Air Force Logo and what it stands for, the force’s bases all over the country, and so on.

nigerian air force

Nigerian Air Force Ranks for Commissioned officers

There are 11 ranks in the Nigerian Airforce for non-commissioned officers. They are listed below:

  1. Marshal of the Nigerian Air Force
  2. Air Chief Marshal
  3. Air Marshal
  4. Air Vice-Marshal
  5. Air Commodore
  6. Group Captain
  7. Wing Commander
  8. Squadron Leader
  9. Flight Lieutenant
  10. Flying Officer
  11. Pilot Officer

Nigerian Air Force Ranks for non-commissioned officers

There are 9 ranks in the Nigerian Airforce for non-commissioned officers. They are listed below:

  1. Air Warrant Officer
  2. Master Warrant Officer
  3. Warrant Officer
  4. Flight Sergeant
  5. Sergeant
  6. Corporal
  7. Lance-Corporal
  8. Aircraftman
  9. Recruit

Nigerian Air Force Ranks and Salary Structure

Non-commissioned officers’ salaries

  • Air Warrant Officer: N171,793 per month
  • Master Warrant Officer: N165,697 per month
  • Warrant Officer: N101,974 per month
  • Flight Sergeant: N87,119 per month
  • Sergeant: N69,261 per month
  • Corporal: N58,634 per month
  • Lance Corporal: N55,832 per month
  • Aircraftman: N53,892 per month
  • Cadet (Trainee): N44,564 per month

Commissioned officers’ salaries

  • Air Chief Marshal: N1,724,283
  • Air Marshal: 1,486,451
  • Air Vice Marshal: N1,376,343
  • Air Commodore: N677,895
  • Group Captain: N352,631
  • Wing Commander: N342,586
  • Squadron Leader: N248,004
  • Flight Lieutenant: N232,484
  • Flying Officer: N218,400
  • Pilot Officer: N187,159

Nigerian Air Force Logo/Emblem

nigerian air force logo emblem

The Nigerian Air Force Logo is a combination of the National Coat of Arms and other elements that make the graphic representation a unique entity. The base of the logo is formed by a scroll bearing the words, “Nigeria Air Force”.

Above the scroll are two pairs of wheat cobs held together at the lower end, which is tucked behind the scroll. At the upper end, the two pairs are separated by a small Nigerian flag. This makes the cobs assume a V-shape. Sitting right on the Nigerian flag is an eagle, which, in turn, carries the Nigerian Coat of Arms on its back.

Except for the Nigerian flag and coat of arms, every other element in the Nigerian Air Force Logo is coloured yellow.

Nigerian Air Force Bases

  • NAF Kaduna (the Old Kaduna Airport), Kaduna State
  • NAF Abuja, FCT
  • NAF Shasha, Lagos
  • NAF Minna (based in Minna Airport), Niger State
  • NAF Makurdi (based in Makurdi Airport), Benue State
  • NAF Benin, Edo State
  • NAF Yola, Adamawa State
  • NAF Kainji
  • NAF Jos, Plateau State
  • NAF Enugu (based in Akanu Ibiam Int’l Airport), Enugu State
  • NAF Kano (based in Aminu Kano Int’l Airport), Kano State
  • NAF Ipetu-Ijesha, Osun State
  • NAF Katsina, Katsina State

Nigerian Air Force: Additional Important Facts

The Nigerian Air Force (NAF) is the arm of the Nigerian Armed Forces that that is in charge of air military operations. The force presently has about 10,000 personnel comprising both commissioned and non-commissioned officers.

The Nigerian Air Force was established on the 18th of April 1964 following the passage by the National Assembly of the 1964 Air Force Act, which stated that the force that be saddled with the task of defending the country majorly through air operations. The aims and objectives of the force are as follows

  • To ensure quick and versatile deployment of the Armed Forces whenever necessary.
  • To complement the military defence system of the country.
  • To support the ground-based (Nigerian Army) and sea-borne forces (Nigerian Navy) in all stages of their operations.
  • To play a pivotal role in maintaining the integrity of the country as a single, united entity.
  • To improve the country’s image and prestige, which are essential in international issues.

The Chief of Air Staff acts as the presidential adviser on defence matters related to air operations. He also works with the Minister of Defence and the Chief of Defence Staff.

The rank structure of the Nigerian Air Force is similar to that of the British Royal Air Force. This is expectable, since Nigeria was colonized by the British until she gained independence on October 1, 1960.

Video: Nigerian Air Force Strike Assets

The video below reveals some of the air-strike assets presently owned by the Nigerian Air Force. Enjoy the video.

Learn more about other Armed Forces in Nigeria

Exchange your Bitcoins & Perfect Money for Naira. Get Paid Automatically in 10 seconds.



  2. Augustine chinemerem Darlington
  3. fadipe abiodun
  4. olamilekan alaba
  5. Isimak
  6. Hassan Ibrahim
  7. Buhari
  8. Najeem
  9. Lekan
  10. idiris benzema
  11. Ridwan
  12. Oyelakin Afeez
  13. yilshap david yakubu
  14. nasiru sulaiman
    • anonymous
  15. ibrahim abdulsalam
  16. Joshua
  17. Buchi
  18. p kufre
  19. Joseph
    • Lynda
    • Lynda
  20. pius
  21. Paul
  22. Paul
  23. kunle Afolayan
    • Bela
  25. yomexwhizzy
    • ogbonna kevin
  26. yomexwhizzy
    • Lynda
  27. yomexwhizzy
  28. Warkani Marcus Yakubu
  29. obaegbu ikechukwu Paulinus
  30. Adeleye oluwaseun
  31. okonkwo tochukwu e
  32. Obafemi Ajayi
  33. Usman
  34. philip
  37. Temitope oluwafemi fasetire
  39. Ugoh
  40. Okonkwo Emmanuel Agoziem
    • Mbonu Favour
  42. Rasheed Odunlami
  43. Shedrack peter
  44. Heke David Tersoo
    • APEX
  45. ikenna Emmanuel
  46. Adams Alfred
    • Ibrahim musa
      • Oche
    • lassa
    • sunny
    • Bela
  47. Danladi Victor
  48. Jerewilly
  49. Samson Mungo-Park
  50. Adeyeye Oluwasegun J
  52. Umar Sabiu Isa
    • Yaqub sabiu
    • sunny
  53. Yarima
    • Enddie Ifada Orhyno
  54. segun yekaghe
  55. umar a habib
  56. Adam Yahya Yakubu
  57. Yunusa aliyu
  58. Kingsley
    • Abutalib
      • Olowolayemo
      • Ibrahim
      • Adigun
    • Funky
    • Funky
  59. Kingsley
  61. Shakiru dauda
  62. akinbohun oluwaaeunjohn
  63. Shakiru dauda
  64. Shakiru dauda
  65. Shakiru dauda
  66. Faisal Ali
  67. chisingali samuel c
  68. Arinze Afunanya
  69. Jakes
  70. perpetual Akpa
  71. Sulaiman Abubakar Dabai
  72. james
  73. Israel
  75. kenneth
  76. Izekor osahen bright
  77. Sa'adan.
  78. Victor winner augustine
  79. Jefferson
    • flow
      • okutubodammy

Leave a Reply to Bela Cancel reply

error: Content is Read-Only!!